We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh from the sea!”

Monterey's Fish House
Ranked #7 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh from the sea!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by this place on our drive to 17mile drive (would rate 2 stars for that one).
Small and buzzing place. Nice folks who serve some yum food. It's fresh and very well done. Recommend cod or salmon.

Helpful?
1 Thank vivax777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    352
    120
    50
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If like fish, a must. Great food, selection, service”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

A great place to eat fish and other things as well.good menu well prepared. Note: they close between 2:30 and 5:00!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fresh”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I was told about this from a local person on the wharf!! This restaurant did not disappoint!! Very fresh seafood.. A must if you are in monterey!! P.s. We saw raccoons under the wharf I would try off the beaten path like the fish house!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meesy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“where else”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

A longtime local sent us to the Wharf for dinner and gave us coupons for a meal extra. The dinner was OK but being in a sea coast town, we figured there had to be better. On our return to our hotel, we told the local, just that it was OK. the number 2 in command asked him what he was thinking?
The next evening (mid week) was at Monterey Fish House and my oh my, what a difference. the staff, well at worst, was so outstanding that, the place could have had the worst food in town and you would enjoy it, BUT, NO the food was not just excellent, but outstanding. One had Fresh Bigeye tuna and one had fresh Sturgeon. Unusual side complimented the food. Deserts were excellent and try their own in house creation. Go at Sixish and have a draft at the bar and enjoy the bartender and watch the staff. Great place, wonderful food and we cannot WAIT to go back and looking for an excuse to travel that far for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jnalljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expectations too high”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Sometimes expectations are too high. I think we had heard and read so often that this is just the best place to eat in Monterey that our expectations were just too high. We had a fine meal, but it wasn't great. We will go again because sometimes what you order or just the night makes a difference, but we will go with much lower expectations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Monterey's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing