We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food,kind staff,nice dishes,relatively cheap fish!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey's Fish House

Monterey's Fish House
Ranked #7 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food,kind staff,nice dishes,relatively cheap fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The place is not in the centre by its very easy to find and close to all the motels and hotels along Fremont avenue. Booking is suggested but we hadn't and we had waited no more than 10 mins cause we accepte to eat at the bar counter (which is nice and comfortable enough). The salmon was fresh and ravioli with crab were good (and I am an Italian judge!!). The price is fair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bipolary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    342
    115
    49
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Love the Fresh, Tasty & Reasonable Priced Seafood at this restaurant. We had the raw and BBQ oysters, the Artichoke Seafood Pasta, the Calamari Steak, but most of all , the Bouillabaisse was the best for me. Reservation is a must, and get there early or on time. The line is long. Staff were extremely busy. Ambience is okay. Customers go there for the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was good but not excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here with a party of nine. We were served friendly and nearly perfect, however we did not get extra plates with our shared garden salad starter, which made sharing a bit complicated. I had the fish house pasta, which was good but not great. I think other things on the menu might be better. The mud pie is a great desert. However I would recommend this place to others!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Esc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I hate to burst everybodys bubble”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Upon our visit to Monterey, the fish house was highly recommended. Our party of three was disappointed. Two of us ordered scallop dishes. The scallops were not cooked correctly and they had a strange flavor,like they had been treated with chemicals. We brought this to the servers attention and she told us that there had been other complaints in the past that the scallops tasted like ammonia,but she did not offer to do anything about our dinners. I thought she should of at least offered a discount on two $30 entrees.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lakeman120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very busy. Sub-par service and food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Prior visit over a year ago was good. This time, not so. Wait person kept looking around room and acknowledging others while taking order. Swordfish was way over done and not really "blackened", just seasoned. There are many great seafood restaurants in the area to choose from. I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey's Fish House also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing