We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a fun place to eat!”

Hula's Island Grill
Ranked #5 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always a fun place to eat!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have been going to Hula's for years and it has always been great!
Some great menu choices and good beers too.
Friendly service and clean.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indyboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    369
    108
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The place for a drink and food”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went there on a Tuesday night - drinks were $5 (yes!!) and the food was great too. Service was just as impeccable. Go there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank db_0074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Save your money and go to a real island somewhere....anywhere....and go where the locals eat...it will be well worth the trip.....Someday a volcano will erupt under all fake Hawaiian places and you just don't want to be there on that day. Pele is less amused than Makayla Monroney

Helpful?
Thank R E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This a fun little place on Lighthouse drive just up the hill from Cannery Row and Hawaiian themed. They have a nice little happy hour from 4pm-6pm with $5 cocktails and pupus. I had the Luau pork sandwich, so good. They are also part of the sustainable seafood initiative for only using sustainable seafoods in their restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NerdyTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must try.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We planned a stop-over in Monterey Bay on our route down to LA and we are so glad we did. The town is lovely and having looked through TripAdvisor for somewhere to eat, we came across Hula's.
This is a small, friendly restaurant with amazing food. We had Shrimp fritters for starter which I can honestly say we're delicious. We also tried the ribs and Jerk chicken for our main courses. Ribs were melt in your mouth tasty and jerk chicken full of flavour. The portion sizes were just right.
The atmosphere in this restaurant in excellent and the cocktails are a must. Staff are very helpful and the overall experience can't be faulted.
So far this is the best restaurant we've tried in California.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1975slt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula's Island Grill also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Hula's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing