We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, but...”
Review of Cafe Fina

Cafe Fina
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 6/16
8:00 PM
Ranked #24 of 327 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Del Monte Avenue
Description: Receiving rave reviews from both locals and its famous guests, Cafe Fina specializes in Italian seafood and features fresh local seafood, seasonal organic vegetables from the owner's ranch, fresh homemade pasta and a classic wood burning oven—the first in Monterey. Located on Fisherman's Wharf in Monterey, the restaurant boasts many fresh seafood items from which to choose. Steak, pizza, and many other non-seafood items are also available. In addition to its standard menu, Cafe Fina provides vegetarian, children’s and banquet menus. The restaurant is pet friendly and offers a doggie menu as well. With gorgeous views of the Monterey Bay from almost anywhere in the restaurant, and the friendliest service in town, Cafe Fina is one of the better choices for a meal while visiting Fisherman’s Wharf.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

My party of 4 colleagues enjoyed a nice dinner at this place. The food is well prepared and reasonably priced given the location. But watch out. They have dinner salads on the menu at about $10 each and up. We all ordered a "side salad." Everywhere I have ever dined a side salad is like half a dinner salad and priced accordingly. After saying she would bring side salads, she brought each of us $10 salads, as we discovered when we got the check. Our server offered no remedy and said that, for them, a side salad is the same as the $10 salads on the menu. She should have said that when we ordered and used the term "side salad." Buyer beware...

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeFina, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Fina, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Michael, thank you so much for taking the time to give us this great feed back. We have spoken to our staff and asked them to change their wording so as to not mislead in the future. Sorry for our miscommunication, and thanks again for your thoughtful review. Please come back and join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 505 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

Really friendly staff and a great view over the bay. Pizza with mamas meatballs a winner. Reasonably priced and good fresh food.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank ClanClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeFina, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Fina, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Thanks Clan Clark! Short and sweet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

On a cold January night, my wife and /I wandered over to Cafe Fina from our hotel. We were immediately welcomed into the cozy restaurant. Roxanne was our server and was fabulous throughout the dinner - she is fun, attentive and professional!

We both ordered Monterey's famous sand dabs and they were among the best I have ever tasted - fresh and perfectly cooked. Add in a bottle of wine and it was the perfect dinner on the wharf. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeFina, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Fina, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. Our seafood connections allow us to provide our guests with the freshest, most sustainable seafood possible. We do our best to get it out the guest in a way that allows that quality to shine through. Roxanne of course is treasure that we consider to be one of our family. Thanks again for venturing out on a chilly evening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019

The food is extremely good. We love Roxane, well everyone does. She plays the part of hostess, waitress, and whatever needs to have attention to. Oh yeah, she has an over-the-top personality. Owner is there many times, and pays attention to details which is so important in a "good" restaurant. Love the place. The food is fabulous. Tried many items off the menu, all very yummy!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LAUREN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeFina, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Fina, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2019

Thank you Lauren! You're right we all DO love Roxanne. We consider all of our employees members of the family and its nice to have you recognize how good they are. Please come back again when you can, we'd love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

We decided on Cafe Fina after reviewing their menu. We were recently in Sicily and they offered a linguini pasta with Sicilian sausage. So that’s what I ordered. I was NOT disappointed!! In fact, it was the best I’d ever tasted. I topped it off with one of my favorites, bread pudding. They make their own and it was wonderful. Well, that’s what I had at Cafe Fina. The wife will have to write her own review. What a great way to ring in the New Year. Thank you Cafe Fina!!

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank maddtax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeFina, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Fina, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Felice Anno Nuovo! We are so happy that you enjoyed our Sicilian classics. The recipes are truly handed down through the family, using the freshest ingredients possible. Thanks for taking the time to review us and have a great year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fina also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Cafe Fina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing