We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of good food, well priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosine's Restaurant

Rosine's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Soups, Italian, American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh homemade food and award winning 'Best Family Restaurant and 'Best Desserts' for over 24 years! We're featured on The Food Networks 'Diners, Drive-ins and Dives' with Guy Fieri and '100 Mile Meals'.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of good food, well priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We were excited to go to a restaurant that was just featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. Rosine's did not disappoint. Portions were huge and delicious. The one pie slice we ordered was more than enough to feed our family of 4! Would definitely recommend!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    266
    102
    19
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“"Did Not Get Beyond the Water"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Sometimes, one negative experience often leads to a positive one. Such was the case at Rosine's Restaurant in downtown Monterey this week.

Monterey has become a frequent overnight getaway for the past few years, during which time I have dined at many fine restaurants and breakfast houses. This time around, my companion and I decided to try something new and walked into Rosine's, located in the heart of old downtown Monterey. The hostess was talking on the phone and we waited a few minutes before another server approached, with menus in hand, and sat us in an elevated booth along the west wall, advising us that our server would be right over.. A few minutes later a busboy delivered two glasses of water. We then put our menus down and waited...and waited...and waited for our server to arrive. During that time, we observed a couple being seated at the table just below us. We observed our server at the booth, two tables down asking the customers if they needed anything else. We then saw her look at us, turn away and go down to the couple that had just been seated. She took their drink orders, and then went back to the kitchen area. She returned to their table with the drinks, as we then watched another couple enter the restaurant and be seated. After taking the first couple's order, she moved on to the other couple that had just been seated and asked them for their drink order. And so we waited...and waited. About 10 - 15 minutes had passed and my companion finally suggested that we go elsewhere. Frankly, I had to agree with her. As we walked out past the hostess, she was still talking on the phone.

We decided to go back to our hotel and try their Bistro, also a new experience. We were warmly greeted by the server who was extremely attentive and did not let a minute pass before asking if we were ready to order...and she kept coming back to ask if everything was okay...and "by gosh" the food was prepared exactly as ordered and we really enjoyed it.

Perhaps we should be thankful that we did not get beyond the water at Rosine's, for their lack of good customer service became the catalyst for a more positive experience elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinInaDavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wow! Great food, generous servings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This restaurant was a couple blocks from our hotel. We had breakfast here our first morning, and liked it so much, we returned the second morning. Rosine herself let us in as they opened. French toast, omelets, muffins, etc all delicious, and the pastry case at the front of the restaurant looked very tempting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nhpbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corcoran, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Going Back For Sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is our second time and it was even better than the first time. We ordered the spinach salad and the club sandwich. First of all, the servings were very generous. We probably could have split the salad to serve us both. The sandwich was so tasty with fresh avocado. My husband commented how they didn't slather all kinds of mayonnaise on it like other restaurants do. We both shared the sandwich and the salad. We also took a slice of the strawberry cake home. Delicious! The dessert window is full of all kinds of yummy cakes. This restaurant has a comfortable family feel. Very casual with great service and very reasonable prices. Will return on our next visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The first time I tried Rosine's I was very impressed with the quality, selection, and delicious deserts. Decided to take kids over the July 4th holiday and was so disappointed. The food was bland, lukewarm and my wings were undercooked. The only upside is that the deserts are still fabulous - ordered carrot cake to go and it did delicious. Unfortunately, I will find a different location to dine next time in Monterey. Also, the place is super crowded so the waiters while polite are definitely moving your dining experience along at a rapid pace.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BriBella731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosine's Restaurant also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Rosine's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing