We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere”

Cibo Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #38 of 298 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Del Monte Blvd.
Transit: Monterey Airbus stops near Cibo Restaurant
Description: COCKTAILS•DINNER•JAZZCibo (pronounced chee-bo) means food in Italian, but it’s more of a feast for the senses. An intimate yet vibrant atmosphere is accentuated with expressive art in the form of photography, paintings, sculpture, hand-blown glass and live jazz. Fusing the best of old and new world Italian cuisine, Cibo offers an eclectic menu from gourmet pizzas to multi-course dinners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great staff who catered for vegetarian needs. Lovely jazz music which makes the dining experience more pleasurable. Would definitely recommend it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prashuwholunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    115
    43
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Visited this place with my familiy. Good italian food and excellent wines. One of the best restaurants in Monterrey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queckdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Location, and Music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Two blocks from the wharf but right on Del Monte (next to a free public parking garage if you are interested), is this little gem of a resataurant run by Proprietor "Rosa". This family owned place is extremely inviting, with great music most nights (just right, not so loud you can't talk -- blues, jazz, you get the picture). But now to the food. Rosa stopped by as I wanted to compliment her homemade sausage (tossed with paste, saffron, peas and a lovely broth).. She explained she uses only the finest ingredients and I second that. My husband has the 'mixed' grill of steak and lamb and said it was just exceptional. The only down note: it is so comfortable you don't want to leave!! BTW, wine is nicely priced buy a bottle or two! Oh, I forgot the argula salad on the walnet bed with the baked goat cheese. Seriously GREAT FOOD (cozy little booths if you are looking for a romantic evening out)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Delicious food, terrific service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I showed up in Monterey about 9pm on a Sunday night. We were on a mini-honeymoon, and spending a couple days in the area. The hotel we stayed at said there was not much open, so we did a yelp search for open restaurants and found Cibo. We didn't have high hopes, we thought it was a bar that also had a kitchen. We were mistaken! The food was delicious! Our server David was almost happier than we were about our wedding the day before, he was so honored to be our waiter on our honeymoon. He also made some great suggestions for cocktails and deserts. The lavender Martini was fantastic, the flat iron steak was suburb along with the pork chop. Great dinner all around. This place is also huge, so probably a good option if you don't have a reservation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank aceonweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A curate's egg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a very mixed experience. The decor is an interesting collection of regional Italian and savants garde but pleasant and the use of barriers in the centre of the restaurant helps contain more energetic diners. When we were there they had a table of 75 in for celebration and they handled it well without interruption to other diners and with almost no noise. The front of house is efficient and friendly and the food is well prepared and well seasoned. However (you knew there was going to be one) the staff need more training. Our waiter was initially efficient but when it came to ordering he hovered with a pen and pad and elected to write nothing down, instead relying on his memory - which was a big mistake. He had to be prompted to ask how a guest would like their steak cooked, and then seemed to ignore the reply as instead of medium it was rare. Then he forgot our drinks order, but at least remembered that he had forgotten!

Our table had good access but the waiter insisted on serving from one corner so a lot of reaching and passing was necessary and unforgivable. Then he messed up the main course order which left me with no food whilst y two guests ate. There was no apology but a sense that I had changed my mind when he had repeated my order back to me previously. The manager came over unprompted with profuse apologies and, although we were very nice about the whole thing as said that as his guest we deserve better. Drinks were offered but politely declined. After the food appeared he returned to check on us. It was well down and as I would expect for a restaurant with aspirations, and deeply appreciated.

Now we had a surly as well as forgetful waiter. Our desserts were almost dropped from a height onto the table, as was the check. And you want a tip?

In summary, food very good, atmosphere perfect for conversation, front of house and management very good but some of the waiting staff need attention as this can ruin a perfectly nice evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Cibo Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing