We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't impress me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed August 29, 2005

Made reservations over a month before our visit. Upon entering our room, found we were given a king bed instead of 2 doubles as reserved. Showed front desk our printed out confirmation with 2 doubles written on it and clerk just shrugged her shoulders and said there were no other rooms. She did give us a plastic futon/mattress to sleep on the floor---said we could use it "free of charge"...duh. Next, the free internet wasn't working the 2nd & 3rd day of our visit. Per owners..."maybe it'll work tomorrow". Also, our window frame was broken--bent so that it wouldn't stay on the track. anyone could have easily gotten into our room by just pulling on the window. One more thing...big gape between bottom of door & floor----cool night for the person that had to sleep on the floor on the "free" plastic mattress. Yes, the price was good, but not worth the problems.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zxc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2005

Ugh! We hated it here, and you will too. This place is very old and downtrodden, and we can't figure out what they claim has been renovated. The pool was the filthiest we have ever seen. ONe positive about this hotel is it is across the street from a nice shopping mall with lots of stores including a starbucks and chipotles, as well as many restaurants.

1  Thank Whatacountry!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2005

I stayed at this lovely motel for a night. It is also a Knight's Inn property. The manager, Nick Patel and his wife Vidia, are so gracious and helpful; they allowed me to check in early. The room was spotless, smelled great, seems like recently renovated, gleaming floor tiles in bathroom, carpets very clean, bed and bedding great too. For the $60 I paid, in Monterey, it was a great deal. And that included a breakfast that you go to the lobby for and eat in your room- they even have cafeteria-style trays to carry the stuff. They had coffee, tea, hot cocoa all the time in the lobby. In addition, they had 3 types of cereal in sealed Tupperware (Raisin bran cheerios, oatmeal the day I was there) and fresh cold milk in a sealed pitcher, along with fresh Danish kept in a sealed container also. I would go here again, just a short drive to the Wharf. They also have coupons for Monterey places in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beaujoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2005

My wife and I stayed in the Carmel Hill Lodge for one night whilst touring California on our honeymoon. We used a coupon from roomsaver.com and got a good deal.
The motel was well located just off highway 1 and wasn't at all noisy. The room was one of the largest we stayed in and was spotlessly clean.
We can highly recommend this motel and only wish we had more time in the Monterey area. Dont miss the fabulous 17 mile drive and check out the nearby hotel (within walking distance behind the gas station) for an evening meal.

13  Thank mikenfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank UtenteNSRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank efreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze a piano terra per evitare le scale
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#47 of 56 in Monterey
47 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 56 in Monterey
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#45 of 56 in Monterey
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $53 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing