We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
1 review
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very polite. Bed is very comfortable! Free breakfast & walking distance next to the shopping center & not far from the aquarium which is where we went. Only bad thing was the air conditioner smelled a LITTLE funky.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laylasmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    110
    80
    32
    23
See reviews for
54
146
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

About what you would expect for the price. The rooms where kept up, all though beds and blankets were old. The outside of the hotel was quite pleasant, and the free breakfast (cereal, muffins and coffee) was a nice surprise. The only real complaint, was do to the moist seaside air the front doors to each room are badly warped. So in the morning (4am typically), when the seagulls come to sit and scream on your porch, you can hear it very clearly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steadfast-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Price was great and the hotel was very clean. Bathroom was relatively recently updated. It is in a good location and it is a great value. Continental breakfast was provided too. We didn't have any hotel reservations anywhere and this was a great stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Rolled into town late afternoon was able to get a room here. First impressions - very clean, spacious, had microwave, mini fridge and stated that it included breakfast. Is a great location across from the mall and was well cared for. Beds were hard and the breakfast (if you can call it that) was lame. A tiny hallway with cereal and a muffin with no space to eat. Okay in a pinch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by here for one night during our road trip up the California coast. We checked in and were impressed at the size of the room. We had a microwave and a fridge (although the fridge wasn't that cold). The shower also didn't get very hot. The bath wasn't working so we asked the front desk to come help. He didn't speak much English and didn't know what to do about the bath so he just left after looking at it. Then the power went out sometime while we were sleeping so we couldn't charge our phones, use the air conditioner/heater, use Wi-fi, or shower because I couldn't blow dry my hair after. It was also obviously dark in the room. We called the front desk, and they said no problem, but the power never came back. The people were very nice, but not very helpful. I'm so glad that I only stayed for one evening.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was under the mistaken impression that my room would have a microwave and a refrigerator since I did request it. When I asked I was told there was going to have a fee. didn't like that at all!! . So my review is ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We took a trip on Valentine's Day weekend 2014 and the price per night was higher accordingly. This was better than the usual Knights Inn. We rented a room for two nights on the second floor and we could hear the footsteps in the morning as they traveled down the stairs. The bathroom was decent with their bar soaps and in-vinyl packets conditioning shampoo. For the price we paid I expected a little more but since we booked so close the holiday weekend, our selection was limited. Overall, I would rate this motel as just...ok.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the bottom floor. This is a motel where the door to the rooms face the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank premix32to1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#37 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#25 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Property: Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing