We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No bang for the buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No bang for the buck”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The pool was closed down. The room was small. The bathrrom door opened into the sink. The continental breakfast was skimpy and put out too late...the front desk area smelled like curry..ugh. Overall this place was dissapointing and they didn't seem to understand basic custopmer service..go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhead691869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    113
    80
    32
    25
See reviews for
57
149
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The staff was really friendly! The place is a motel so it's cheap. Parking for cars just outside the first floor rooms. Room was ok, but wifi didn't work. Place isn't the newest so it looks a bit tired. Located near a shopping centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liisa112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was a little dubious about staying in a motel, but this place was great! The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms large and spotless. We had a huge bed, TV, shower, bathtub. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk into town, which was perfect to grab something to eat. There's also a complex with clothes shops, restaurants and a supermarket right across the road. The only drawback I guess was breakfast. Cereal and cake, orange juice and coffee. Although it did set us up for the day! Overall a great motel for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Pros: comfy bed, clean, free wifi, location
Cons: bathroom fan broken & loud, vending & water machines broken, room phone horrible static, poor/no wifi signal, cable tv terrible signal, fridge made bad vibrations & we had to unplug it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonicgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Belfast
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The room was old and crude. It had chairs that were broken and walls that had been filled in with a trowel and not smoothed before painting. The door had a gap all the way round that let in noise from the adjacent road. The door itself just didn't feel secure and neither did the windows. The shower rail was pitted with rust and the shower fittings had lost their shine many years ago. The walls were paper thin - you could hear every conversation in the room next door.

It was clean enough. Other reviewers talked about holes in sheets etc... But we had no issues as regards cleanliness.

The room did not have a safe

Internet was fast, reliable and supported Multiple devices

Breakfast was served in a cramped room beside the check-in hut. There were trays so you could carry it back to the room. There was a limited selection of juices, pastries and cereal.
There was just about enough parking at the hotel.

We used this hotel as a one night stop off during a road trip along the CA1. It was a last minute booking because we spent too long in beautiful Carmel. There's a mall across the road with cinema, fast food outlets and a few restaurants. The surrounding area felt safe even very late at night. The main selling point of the hotel is its cost and proximity to Carmel and Monterey.

It was cheap but not cheerful and I would not recommend this hotel. If you're visiting Carmel or Monterey, plan ahead - There are plenty of hotels in the area which have to be better than this…

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yahooholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Chose this motel due to other reviews read. Small inn, personable hosts. Room very clean. Bathroom nicely appointed. Frige and microwave handy. Coffee pot would be nice. Small continental breakfast handy. Fruit would nice

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center couldnt delete choice. Good restaruants close. Great mall across str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Pros: the room was nice and looked like it had been redecorated sometime recently, the bed was comfortable with clean soft sheets, there was a TV with some good channels, the heater worked, and the shower stayed warm long enough for a quick shower. location is convenient, not too far from Cannery Row area, and there is lots of parking.

Cons: the refrigerator kept making loud rumbling noises periodically (woke us up several times during the night), we avoided turning on the bathroom light because the fan made such a horrible loud noise, and the breakfast was very basic. we ended up taking our cereal back to the room because the breakfast area was so small and crowded.

Room Tip: in the downstairs rooms, you hear all of the stomping around from the people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#49 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#42 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Property: Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing