We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Bed and Bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed January 29, 2013

- Clean Bathroom and big bed
- Free Internet
- Low Price

I want to start off by saying that for one and a half star rated motel, this place was clean. I usually stay at 3 stars and up hotels, but since I wanted to save some money I decided to stay here. I didn't expect too much, but my basic need was clean bed and bathroom and I got exactly that. Bed was a king size bed, relatively comfortable and had enough pillows. Room had a microwave and fridge. Room size was big for the money we paid. Free internet. They serve breakfast but I skipped it. It was about 10-15 minutes away from Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row.

That being said, there are some downsides- bed was a little springy, carpet was a bit dirty, towels were thin, you can hear people walking upstairs (but it did not bother us at night or wake us up in the middle of the night)

If you are looking for a cheap place just to sleep and clean up, this the place for you. If you are planning to stay in your room all day, then I suggest you look for another place.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor if you don't want to hear people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solitaire078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 298 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our home nearby has been under construction for a year and I have stayed at many of the hotels in this area. I found the Knights Inn to be one of the nicer, with more amenities such as refrigerators & microwaves (in most rooms), updated heater/air conditioner, hairdryers,very adequate breakfast and very pleasant staff. They are on a major street, but it is quiet at night and I always slept like a baby. I loved the convenience of being across the street from a major shopping center and multi theater. I will definitely stay here again whenever I need a room in the area. For the price you just can't beat it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've stayed in a bunch of these types of places as we dive Monterey frequently. I'd break it down like this:

Pros: Great bed - we had a very comfortable king bed that was much better than average for this type of motel. Quiet despite being on a busy street. The windows shut, this place is very peaceful. We slept GREAT and we are picky. Also, the location is handy for just about anything. You can walk to fisherman's wharf in 15/20 mins at a moderate pace, though it's uphill on the return. Access to shops, movie theater, restaurants and roads(especially Hwy 1) is fantastic. Everything was pretty clean for us. Free internet actually WORKED without any issue and it was pretty good speed as i had to work remotely for a few hours. Last, but not least, the price is very good.

Cons: Parking lot is tiny if you have a large vehicle. Breakfast was less than what others in the area will give you, not terrible though. Basically, you're getting cereal with bad coffee and super sweet orange juice. It's loud if you leave the window open for fresh air as a ton of traffic goes by from the mall across the street and folks accessing the highway nearby.

Everything else.....room size, front desk, small pool, maid service, TV/cable....was average.

Hopefully, you understand you are not getting a business class hotel. So don't expect that and you will be pretty pleased overall I believe. It's great for a night or three when you just need a good place to sleep while you site see.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location for heading out south on a day trip to Big Sur or Monterey Bay area. Qucik and easy continental breakfast. This roadside motel is on busy Munras Avenue across from a Mall with a grocery store. We found that to be a plus for next day picnic along Highway 1. Free parking and a pool. The staff friendly, rooms average and clean. Great price. Quick drive to Cannery Row, Monterey Aquarium and the 17-Mile drive. A couple of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had never stayed at Knights Inn before-my husband had back east and wasnt impressed- but decided to give a try but would not stay at another one again. I was not impressed with the front desk staff person who checked us in. the room was ok but nothing spectacular. took a shower and the towels seemed abit rough and strong bleach smell. breakfast wasnt much. disappointed in staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessiejoycem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had to pass through Monterey and made a reservation here. Glad I did as they appeared full when I arrived on a Sunday evening just after 9pm.

The location was perfect coming into Monterey from the North and wanting to head south on the PCH.

The room was very adequate for the price. The bathroom was superior for a place of this class.

I left before breakfast which the owner said would be ready by 7am so no comment.

The rate was excellent for this area, actually excellent period.

I would recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Looks like a reservation would be important. My room was the first on the ground floor in the NW cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while on a 3 weeks holiday in California. In terms of quality and value for money this was the best deal we got. The room was large and clean. There was a microwave and fridge in the room, large, comfortable bed and couch. There was no noise from adjoining or overhead rooms on either night of our stay. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast here as there was a wholefoodsmarket just accross the road where we availed of a healthier option. There was also an excellent pizza place - California Pizza, also across the road where we dined on one of the evenings. The location is about 30 minutes walk to downtown Monterey, all on footpaths and downhill. I would certainly stay at this Inn again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biffos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#47 of 56 in Monterey
47 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 56 in Monterey
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#45 of 56 in Monterey
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $53 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing