We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Price and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
263 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Price and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location for heading out south on a day trip to Big Sur or Monterey Bay area. Qucik and easy continental breakfast. This roadside motel is on busy Munras Avenue across from a Mall with a grocery store. We found that to be a plus for next day picnic along Highway 1. Free parking and a pool. The staff friendly, rooms average and clean. Great price. Quick drive to Cannery Row, Monterey Aquarium and the 17-Mile drive. A couple of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    104
    77
    29
    20
See reviews for
52
136
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had never stayed at Knights Inn before-my husband had back east and wasnt impressed- but decided to give a try but would not stay at another one again. I was not impressed with the front desk staff person who checked us in. the room was ok but nothing spectacular. took a shower and the towels seemed abit rough and strong bleach smell. breakfast wasnt much. disappointed in staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiejoycem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had to pass through Monterey and made a reservation here. Glad I did as they appeared full when I arrived on a Sunday evening just after 9pm.

The location was perfect coming into Monterey from the North and wanting to head south on the PCH.

The room was very adequate for the price. The bathroom was superior for a place of this class.

I left before breakfast which the owner said would be ready by 7am so no comment.

The rate was excellent for this area, actually excellent period.

I would recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Looks like a reservation would be important. My room was the first on the ground floor in the NW cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birr, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while on a 3 weeks holiday in California. In terms of quality and value for money this was the best deal we got. The room was large and clean. There was a microwave and fridge in the room, large, comfortable bed and couch. There was no noise from adjoining or overhead rooms on either night of our stay. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast here as there was a wholefoodsmarket just accross the road where we availed of a healthier option. There was also an excellent pizza place - California Pizza, also across the road where we dined on one of the evenings. The location is about 30 minutes walk to downtown Monterey, all on footpaths and downhill. I would certainly stay at this Inn again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biffos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very accommodating management. A great location 3 minutes by car from Monterey Bay and a modest room rate. Room and grounds were clean and well-appointed while not palatial. A dynamite combination which will make me a repeat guest. The only negative was noise from the second-floor room directly above mine, with people walking . . .walking . . walking. Not enough noise to interfere with sleep, but what was all of the walking about? Located on "motel row" on the west side of Munras, a divided highway, immediately across the road from Delmonte Mall. That makes it tricky to drive north on Munras into Monterey left turns and u-turns are not allowed -- the trick is to drive south on Munras, turn right at the first opportunity, then turn right again at the first opportunity onto Pacific, which takes you straight to the heart of Monterey with little traffic (but watch out for joggers and dog-walkers).

Room Tip: There was substantial noise from people walking around in the second floor room directly above my ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place was both clean and cheap, but was on a main thoroughfare, which was noisy. A plus was the major mall across the street with a Starbucks, a Whole Foods and other main stores. Easy to locate but not within walking distance of any of Monterey's attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We came here to spend a cool weekend when the rest of California was sweltering. Our room was very comfortable, & the service was outstanding. Nice and quiet at night. Location is ideal for getting to Carmel, as well as Pacific Grove and the Aquarium.

Room Tip: We preferred the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ankplasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#41 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#25 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#50 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#21 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Property: Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing