We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid value in Monterey CA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid value in Monterey CA”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very accommodating management. A great location 3 minutes by car from Monterey Bay and a modest room rate. Room and grounds were clean and well-appointed while not palatial. A dynamite combination which will make me a repeat guest. The only negative was noise from the second-floor room directly above mine, with people walking . . .walking . . walking. Not enough noise to interfere with sleep, but what was all of the walking about? Located on "motel row" on the west side of Munras, a divided highway, immediately across the road from Delmonte Mall. That makes it tricky to drive north on Munras into Monterey left turns and u-turns are not allowed -- the trick is to drive south on Munras, turn right at the first opportunity, then turn right again at the first opportunity onto Pacific, which takes you straight to the heart of Monterey with little traffic (but watch out for joggers and dog-walkers).

Room Tip: There was substantial noise from people walking around in the second floor room directly above my ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    113
    81
    32
    25
See reviews for
57
149
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place was both clean and cheap, but was on a main thoroughfare, which was noisy. A plus was the major mall across the street with a Starbucks, a Whole Foods and other main stores. Easy to locate but not within walking distance of any of Monterey's attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We came here to spend a cool weekend when the rest of California was sweltering. Our room was very comfortable, & the service was outstanding. Nice and quiet at night. Location is ideal for getting to Carmel, as well as Pacific Grove and the Aquarium.

Room Tip: We preferred the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankplasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

As a budget traveler, I don't expect much, but I do have nicer taste so I tend to disappointed sometimes. Granted this hotel has been here for a while, but for the price it's a GREAT place to stay. Clean, spacious, light with super friendly staff.

I called to reserve my room when I was in Carmel and the innkeeper was so friendly and nice, she patiently gave me directions when I got turned around (took the wrong exit, the correct exit is #399B). My room is spacious, super clean and smells kind of lemony.

Did I mention that the woman at the front desk was so kind? Well, she is.

The lobby smells a tad like incense, but as a fan of East Indian food and such, I found the aroma very pleasant and inoffensive, unlike other reviewers on this site. This hotel is located very close to everything and I got a great mid-week rate, I am very satisfied with this choice. VERY satisfied. I highly recommend this little gem.

And if you decide to stay here remember that this is not a $400 B&B nestled in the hills or on the shore, this is a clean hotel for a great price IN Monterey. It's located on a main thoroughfare so you'll hear road noise, if that's an issue, spring for a hotel/inn located in a more private location. Lots of shops and Whole Foods are a VERY short walk away.

This is definitely one of the nicest budget/economy hotels I've visited!

Room Tip: I got a room on the top floor at the end so I had windows in the front and on the side. LOTS of ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was my first experience at this hotel. I read other reviews before making the reservation. My husband and I have many times during the year that we need one night in Monterey and have been looking for a reasonable place to stay. Like other reviewers, we did experience an unpleasant odor in the lobby and we would prefer to find breakfast at the mall across the street (breakfast room is tiny). But the room was updated and clean and perfect for our needs. We will add this to our list of motels in Monterey to check for stays in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovemberPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great stay overall. Room was a little small but very clean. Shower was good. I'd stay here again. I really liked the shopping center across the street as they have a whole foods, starbucks, chipotle, and other stores.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room stay on the second floor as you can hear the people above you walking aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenzin_Dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have nothing bad to say about this motel. The staff was very nice, the rooms were clean and tidy and we ran to the shopping mall opposite to buy smoothies and yoghurt. The breakfast the motel offer is the basic breakfast served at most motels including toast, bagel, waffels, juice, coffee and tea. Great choice to stay at Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#49 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#42 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Property: Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing