We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
ventura county, ca
1 review
“no complaints”
Reviewed May 26, 2007

read up on this hotel for negatives. noise was most reported. room was in main building on 4th floor. No noise, extremely quiet.
room much better than anticipated. deserves a 3 plus star rating. impressed with all services. will return again.
visitor from ventura county.

  • Liked — low key, relaxing environment
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyzyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    757
    316
    155
    75
See reviews for
705
835
75
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
423 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

The location for this hotel is very nice, convenient to a number of places. The main hotel seems very nice. However I stayed in the small building across the walkway beside the parking garage and the first night I listened to a fog horn all night long, cars passing by on the street and the sea lions began barking around sunrise. All this with the sliding door closed. The room was very nice but the noise was terrible. A plane from the airport took off and was also very noisy. The 2nd night was quieter, the fog horn sounded more in the distance, probably acoustical weirdness from fog or wind, I'm not sure which since I doubt the fog horn or hotel moved overnight. I stayed in the main hotel many years ago and don't remember noise so I'd be sure to ask for a room in the main hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We stayed at this hotel because it was a corporate sponsored event and the stay was free. I was very surprised that the rooms have NO air conditioning! Monterey is fairly cool but to get a breeze you need to have the sliding door open and it was VERY VERY noisy, dumpster close by, drunks singing, seals barking in the morning. The room itself was nice, comfortable beds and nicely decorated. It is close to everything, but Monterey is small so any hotel will be close to everything. But if you want to rest, do not book this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lestat1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

My wife an I stayed for several days in early May as a part of a conference I was attending.

This is a nice hotel, and at the conference rate a very satisfactory one. It is very wll located; you will walk to the wharf and the sites of historic Monterey, although since it is not on Cannery Row the aquarium is probably too far for most to want to walk. The room was reasonably sized and the towels were nice (pretty fluffy). I thought the beds a bit on the small size, since we seemed to get doubles rather than the two queens advertised. Overall, a very nice hotel.

But, if you add in the cost of the parking (at about $15 for self and $17 for valet) this location gets a bit pricey. When we wanted to stay an extra nite we found another location at 1/4 the price (although that was in nearby Marina, not in downtown Monterey!).

Also, keep in mind that since the Monterey Conference center is attached to/a part of the hotel, it tends to cater to large groups rather than individuals: you may see platoons of professionals.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank Rappongi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

I don't believe this hotel can justify its asking price (and I even stayed at a much lower conference rate). It's a strange property with rooms and buildings scattered everywhere. In many cases, you have to walk outside or even across public pedestrian walkways just to get to your room from the lobby! I went through 4 rooms due to the subpar quality of most of the hotel rooms. I had one that overlooked 2 dumpsters and a wall. I had one that was at ground level next to a public sidewalk. Finally, I got a room that was higher up (still with no view) but that was adequate.

Inside, the rooms are decent size with basic amenities. Others mentioned flat screen TVs. All the rooms I saw had a standard tube TV that received fewer channels than most US hotels (about 15 channels total--including one that kept cutting out). The rooms were generally noisy with both outside and hallway noise penetrating. And as a lot of families with young kids and young adults stay here (who seem to return at 2 am drunk), there is noise to be generated. The toilet seats in many rooms (this was a point of discussion) are of cheap quality and partially broken. They do at least provide bottled water for free, and also some nice cookies each day. The gym is in a different building and technically an "independent" fitness club. It's adequate for a hotel but a joke in terms of size for a fitness club.

The main positive of the hotel is the location (if you can find it with your car--I got lost in the maze of one-way streets and poor hotel directions), as you can walk to most of the Monterey sights from there. They seem to be riding on their location and the automatic traffic they generate from their proximity to the convention center. I personally would find a different place for the money, as the hotel is disappointing overall. Definitely don't stay here for a special occasion.

  • Liked — Location and complimentary cookies
  • Disliked — Rooms, noise, layout, you name it
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vvv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

I hadn't been back to this hotel since it was a DoubleTree a few years ago. It was a pleasure to see the hotel renovated, but the problems we encountered (we had 5 rooms there) made me give serious thought to not returning, despite two more planned trips to Monterey in the next six months.

The hotel is NOISY! I moved rooms trying to find a quiet room, but no dice! The hotel was almost full with a Rotary convention and I finally wound up in a room on the 5th floor that overlooked the roof of the next building (a "partial" ocean view). Still, the thumping music from the plaza kept me awake until 2 am.

That was okay, though, because I had to leave a light on to coax the terradactyl-sized moth that was my unwelcome visitor to stay on the other side of the room. My roomate liked to buzz around my bed, land on the crown molding and visit me in the bathroom. Really, he was more like a pet.

The room amenities were nice: absolut black granite bathroom, large room, shutters, ipod dock, LCD tv, all very nice (be careful, though, not all rooms are created equal! Even "updgraded" rooms vary in amenities). Yet, the High Speed Internet was impossible and the wireless did not work either, the towels left fuzz all over you (one morning I had to shower twice to 'de-fuzz'), and the valet parking service was atrocious at check out (can you believe a 25 minute wait for a car?).

The front desk was friendly (thanks, Elishea!) and the concierge, Anne, was great.

Although the hotel has a great location, I doubt I'll be back. I think I'd rather find another hotel that allows for a good night 's sleep and where I don't have to run a lint brush over my face to be able to go out in the morning!

  • Liked — Recently renovated.
  • Disliked — Noisy room!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Diegodad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

My family has stayed at this hotel regularly for the last ten years, and always found it a great place for a quick getaway, very accessible to all the wonders of Monterey and just across the street from the small but serviceable downtown. Although we've stayed at a few other places on the peninsula, we've always come back to the Portola Plaza, nee Doubletree (everyone loves the chocolate chip cookies) and I have recommended it to others.

Last weekend, however, we had an experience that made me question whether we will ever want to stay there again. Because of a noisy outdoor party immediately adjacent to the hotel, it was hard to fall asleep until about 2 a.m., when the music subsided. We complained to the front desk, but there was apparently nothing they could do about the noise. Reading the other reviews, it seems this kind of problem is not uncommon, and I am astonished that no one has implemented a noise ordinance in Monterey, a town that positions itself as an ideal spot to spend a relaxing seaside vacation. With so many other lovely towns along the coast, you'd think they'd be focused on retaining those tourist dollars.

I would not discourage anyone from staying at this hotel, but getting a room in a good location seems to be key.

  • Liked — Close to everything
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EmanneercsAllowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#12 of 55 in Monterey
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing