We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Portola Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Monterey
1 review
“Loved the Portola Plaza”
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We stayed at the Portola Plaza for our honeymoon it was really nice. We only stayed one night but everything was great...staff, spa and Peter B's. The room we had was on the top floor and was perfect for our honeymoon night. We didn't get to see the view much with everything going on but the room was big and the bathrooms were very nice...my only complaint was that this particular room didn't have tub! The hotel sent up champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries, which was perfect and very thoughtful. We had our wedding party at Peter B's until closing time and had a great time (Adam our waiter was awesome!!!). We will definately recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Liked — The location and ocean view
  • Disliked — No bath tub
  • Tips/Secrets — No rental car needed for this location everything is walking distance or great taxi service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank boulwar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    778
    322
    163
    75
See reviews for
733
851
75
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

Last weekend my boyfriend and I decided to take a last-minute trip down to Monterey, and we couldn't have found a better spot! I honestly don't think I'll ever book a different hotel in the area and would recommend it to anyone. We left San Jose around 6pm and got there around 7:30. I dont' remember the names of the gentleman and lady (Casey?) at the front desk, but they were so friendly and helpful, and our room was great for the price we paid. The first night we ate at the brewery in the back-it's kind of hidden, but once found- great Hefeweisen! My boyfriend and I don't get many chances to spend a weekend together because of our job schedules, but this will definitely be our spot from now on when we do.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Just finished a two-nite stay at the Portola Plaza any my aching back wishes that the Monterey Hyatt had not been fully booked for the weekend. The rooms are slightly larger and slightly better appointed than at the Hyatt, but the beds are terrible. I had asked for a King, and was given two doubles instead because the hotel was fully booked due to a convention. That might have been tolerable except that both of the beds did not give a lot of support. (I was told later by the desk staff that I should have asked for a hard board to put between the box springs and mattresses. How about, instead, they should buy new furnishing?)

Location is the best attribute of this hotel, if you like exploring the wharf area and listening to the seals and seagulls at all times of the day, and exploring the historical sites and restaurants and shops nearby. The swimming pool is more like a play pool (can't really do laps). Stll, for a rate averaging as much as the Monterey Bay Plaza, the Portola Plaza does not deliver as much as the latter.

I agree with some of the other posters. This is a $125 to $150 hotel. It is not a $200, let alone a $300 a nite hotel.

And yes, some of the rooms were inconvenient to get to. And, to get to the parking area, at least on one of the routes, I had to walk through an walkway that smell terribly of urine odors. (The hotel parking lot is shared with other businesses and is open to the general public.)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lousy beds
  • Tips/Secrets — don't pay more than $125 - $150.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomad777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

I stayed at the Portola Plaza Hotel during a heat wave, and I was shocked to discover that the room lacked air conditioning. My only relief was a ceiling fan, which was nearly adequate. As this is nowhere near a budget hotel, and they charge an unreasonably high rate for WiFi, a basic such as air conditioning should be considered a "must".

Otherwise, the room and bed were outstanding, though mine was a long trek from the lobby. The elevators were prompt and plentiful. My room was actually below grade, so I had a view of walking shoes on the sidewalk.

The staff was outstanding.

  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go when it's hot!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FromTheBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

We stayed for two nights in this great hotel. Elegant, clean, comfortable rooms. Helpful staff, and I'm not saying this because they gave us a warm cookie when we checked in! The location is great, right next to Fisherman's wharf. We would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Vary spacious clen room
  • Disliked — The hotel microbrewery
  • Tips/Secrets — The outdoor parking is free until 11 a.m
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Int_Woddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

My boyfriend and I just got back from Monterey/Portola Plaza Hotel and had a wonderful weekend. We were visiting just to get away for the weekend and I found a great deal on Travelzoo.com ($169 a night!) for a Deluxe room Friday and Saturday. Amazing deal and we wouldn't of wanted to be anywhere else in the city after exploring. The hotel room was great and we werent bothered by the outside noise. We spent Friday night on Alvarado St. (the main downtown strip of excitement!) at Doc Ricketts for comedy, Monterey Live (live music), and Cibo's (live reggae/dancing). We had tons of fun and were easily able to stumble back to our room after a few drinks :) Use the concierge (she has won Monterey awards for her services), don't expect to have a completly quiet room, and walk everywhere because the hotel is so central. Check out travelzoo for deals too because I probably would not have paid over $200 a night. Have fun!

  • Liked — LOCATION!
  • Disliked — noise
  • Tips/Secrets — check out travelzoo.com first
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ems33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

For a $200 a night hotel, it is a shame that no airconditioning is offered. Add to this the fact that they appear reluctant to put anyone above the first 2 floors. We checked in at 3.00pm, paid a high rate (over $200 a night), but they absolutely refused to give us a higher floor. Why is the floor important? Because, without a/c, the room's sliding glass door has to be opened to be bearable. But on the lower floors, an unlocked sliding door is an invitation for anyone to enter your room. In addition, the hotel is badly in need of renovation. Until that is done, they should not charge more than $100 a night.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank go168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing