We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside HIGH CCS/FOOTBALL BANQUET”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 13, 2010

thanks to portola plaza staff for providing outstanding service for seaside high football banquet everything was great

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spartans26mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Internet & Social Marketing Coordinator at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2010

Thank you for your review! We are so happy our staff was able to make the Seaside High Football Banquet a success. We look forward to hosting future Seaside High functions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,118 - 2,124 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2010

If you want a perfect Monterey location...steps away from the wharf and old downtown, with the friendliest and most helpful staff, and secure parking, this is the place to stay. You can leave your car and go on
foot. If you have a bike, or other item to store, it is convenient to the main
entrance for easy in and out service. The rooms are not large, but very
well appointed . Be sure and ask for a balcony room to make the most of the space and smell the sea air. All rooms have coffee makers and they
give gourmet oatmeal chocolate chip cookies at check-in...still warm!
Be sure to check for special rates, mostly during weekdays, but early
Jan. we got a great rate even on Fri. and Sat. There are many great
places to eat and drink nearby. The Crown and Anchor pub is open late
with great food and drink. The old Monterey Cafe is great for breakfast, as
well as Rosine's for breakfast, lunch and dinner and bakery items. Mahas
is a Lebanese cafe with great lunch specials and reasonbly priced
ethnic sandwiches that are to die for! Try Plume's local coffee house with internet access for good coffee and teas. All these, and I didn't even get to Fisherman's Wharf yet...lots to choose there as well. Also, a Bennihanna of Tokyo within walking distance of the hotel on a side street.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thriftyoverfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Seaside Team parents & Booster Club hosted the MBL-CCS football banquet in one of your conference rooms. Not only was the service and the staff excellent, but the delicious food was beyond amazing as well! Thank you all for your help in making the banquet a memorable event. We will definitely be returning in the near future for other events.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marthalopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Internet & Social Marketing Coordinator at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2010

Portola Hotel & Spa thanks you for your review. We are so happy that we were able to make your event so successful. We look forward to host any future events for you or the school.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

I stayed at the Portola Hotel & Spa with my husband a few months back and has a great experince. Last week I came for New Years weekend and noticed that the hotel had upgraded their bedding. I absolutley loved the all white comfortable feel. I wish I could take the bed home with me. Also, the hotel is pet friendly which is great because I was able to bring our dog and the staff was extremely friendly. The next time I go to Monterey, I will definitley stay at Portola.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifullife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Internet & Social Marketing Coordinator at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so excited that you loved our new beds and that you and your husband had a great time. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Everybody was very friendly and accommodating. I chose a hotel with a nice price. Portola is a great location. Its minutes away from everything in Monterey I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodgerblue831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Internet & Social Marketing Coordinator at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you loved our hotel. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We were lucky to get this hotel on Priceline! So that made it a great value -- otherwise I don't think we would've paid full price to stay here. Check in was friendly & the cookies were yummy. We were very happy with the cheerful rooms! Pretty, colorful, and comfy. We happened to get a room with two 'double' beds -- I would say they were very very small double beds.

Hotel is in a great location -- you can walk to lots of places. We would definitely stay here again.

We did have the (mis)fortune of being here for NYE. That is great because it is so centrally located (esp for 'First Night Monterey'). It is not so great because you can't get a quiet night's sleep -- tho we would've had this issue at other hotels as well. At check in, I tried to ask for a 'quiet location'. I think he had good intentions, but in the future I would AVOID the rooms that face the interior courtyard section. ALL the patios & balconies face this area and all the noise echoes! Esp when your neighbors are outside chatting till 4:30.... Next time I would try for something facing the side street.

If you need wifi, it is $10 per day. If you park at the hotel, it is $17 per day to self park! NOTE: the big grey bldg across from the hotel's garage is only $7 per day!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALadyNCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Internet & Social Marketing Coordinator at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

We greatly appreciate your review on Portola Hotel & Spa and we hope that you will come back to see us. We are excited that you enjoyed the warm cookies and new rooms. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We have stayed at many amazing hotels along our trip but this hotel was a joke. The localtion is nice but save your money and stay somewhere you will get a good night sleep. The beds are old and saggy, the pillows smelt and where ancient. I could go on but better to spend my time on the nice hotels in Calinfornia.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Internet & Social Marketing Coordinator at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your room. However, we are currently renovating our rooms (beds & linens just to name a few items) and we feel you would be quite pleased with the changes. We thank you again for your feedback and hope you will consider staying with the Portola Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,339 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $176 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing