We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice 3-Day Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice 3-Day Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a strong 4-star spot. The location is super, on the coast very near the downtown, wharf, aquarium, ... lots to explore. The service for my stay was very nice. Room was clean. Conference food was very good. Concierge service is available and responsive. Restaurant is very good, and other very nice choices are within walking distance. If you are a runner or walker, you can run or walk along the beautiful bay coast path that is only a few steps outside the door. Really a nice place to explore.

One real standout for this hotel is their beds. They use mattresses made by "Monterey Mattress Company". I am not sure who they are (they advertise on a little card on the desk that one can purchase a Monterey Mattress after trying them out), but I can attest that the beds were absolutely the most comfortable of any hotel where I have ever stayed. Lots of high quality pillows too, which seals the deal for me. Comfortable beds when traveling are just a great surprise, never expected, and certainly not taken for granted!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    699
    286
    142
    66
See reviews for
647
761
70
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great hotel in an awesome location! We only stayed there one night but the staff was very friendly, rooms were nice and clean and the hotel is close to the wharf and Alvarado street. Helpful that parking was nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a great hotel deal this was...found on Travelzoo. $159 for spacious king-bedded room and full buffet breakfast included. Breakfast was unlimited high quality buffet including smoked salmon (lox). Great service throughout our stay; very friendly, helpful staff! Great location in town w covered parking ($15and per day). Loved the destination wedding to this area andto hotel...made fora a memorable vacation start!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed one night here and the room itself was very nice. Well appointed, very clean, smelled good and quiet. I agree with other reviewers that charging extra for wi-fi is tacky, given that the room cost over $200/night. Also, unless you specifically ask (and pay for) a view, your view will probably be roofs. Mine was. The pool and parking garage are on the other side of a plaza so you have to walk a short ways to check in and cross a public area to use the pool. Not a huge deal, but again, for the price . . .
The hotel is ideally situated for walking to the Wharf and through downtown Monterey. The plaza between the hotel and the parking has shops too. Overall, this is a nice hotel. The restaurant is OK. I prefer the restaurants on the Wharf.

Room Tip: If you want a view, be sure the specify that and be willing to pay extra for the "upgrade"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmosticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
621 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I do probably 100 room nights per year and this is the nicest hotel I've stayed in for a very long time, some positives

- check in really friendly
- room fantastically decorated and appointed, very high standard
- lovely view
- lovely reception and public areas
- nice pool

Some improvements though even though I rated it five star there were a few things that irritated

- $10 wifi, really at a $300 room rate ?
- $25 dollar parking again at a $300 room rate, don't like being gouged 10% on an already expensive room rate

Highly recommend none the less

Rob

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Since I paid $500+ for a harbor king suite, the expectation was that this was a fine hotel in Monterey. It certainly is that but it needs some updating (the carpets were probably hip and cool back in the 1970s) and they act like a Motel 6 when it comes to billing. $5 to simply print out e-vouchers issued through them. Want to use Wi-Fi, there's an extra $10 charge for that. Tacky promos such as "share your experiences on social media and we'll give you a room upgrade." I did a lot of research to find a nice hotel in the Monterey Bay and Carmel area. I thought by paying more, I would get a finer and higher-class experience. Instead, I'm wishing I had just gone to a B&B instead. The experience at this hotel missed the mark.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelOnPurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi TravelOnPurpose,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We value you as a guest and we want you to know that we greatly appreciate your feedback about your recent check in experience. We always make it a point to share guest feedback with our team to improve future guest experiences and it is from postings like your review that contribute to training efforts and team development.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Portola was our second place to stay on a trip from LA to Portland. We found some good, but mostly poorly advertised hotels along the way however, Portola was the best place we stayed the entire trip. Although looking ragged from a long day on the road, the staff at Portola was incredibly kind, welcoming and even gave us 3 warm and delicious chocolate chip cookies! The hotel is situated in a group of shops that will meet any needs you may have, from casual to fancy. The Wharf was beautiful and 1-2 minutes walk from the lobby. I was there as the shops began opening and setting up fresh seafood along the way. Do yourself a favor and walk over to Pino's Cafe for one of the best breakfasts and coffee that I've ever had. If I had to schedule this again I would do 3 things. 1) bring warmer clothes...Monterey can be cold anytime of the year. 2) go on a whale watching cruise. 3) spend more than 1 night at this great property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulfla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing