We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I love Portola Hotel & Spa. We have been coming to Monterey since 1997. Over the years we have stayed at other hotels and have decided Portola is the one. Portola has the best of both worlds. From the South you enter Down Town Alvarado St. to shops ,clubs, restaurants and theaters. From the North you enter the Old World of Monterey with Museums, Old Fisherman's Wharf and a walk/bike path that takes you to Cannery Row and beyond. Great restaurants, beautiful views. We love the fire pit at Jacks, a relaxing spot to meet other travelers. Friendly staff, good food and great location. From Portola Plaza you can see and do so much and not have to get into a car to do it.

Room Tip: Top floor, Ocean view. You won't regret it. Best time of year for weather is Sept., Oct., Nov.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 2,552 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel because we were going to a meeting in the attached convenion center, which was very convenient. The hotel provided the food for the meeting during the breaks and in the evening and it was quite good. Our room was nice - clean and modern, but nothing exceptional. The valet parking service was very good. We had a small balcony looking down towards the bay which is a couple of blocks away. The structure of the hotel has some oddities. We were in a building which was separated form the rest, so we had to ride the elevator to the third floor, then walk outside to our building. We past several rooms that had patios that people walked past instead of balconies. We had asked for a king size bed, but we had to settle for 2 double beds. Dogs were definitely allowed, but that was no problem. It is about a five minute walk form the hotel past some interesting very historic buildings to the pier. The lack of air conditioning was not a problem. The breakfast buffet was quite good. There was a wait to get a table but it was less time than the man taking names thought it would be. And you each get a nice warm cookie when you check in. We would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanttogotoall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and compliments on the valet team. We hope you enjoyed your conference and time in Monterey and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

When we arrived and started to unload our car, the porters immediately notified us that we had 3 minutes to unload, check-in and move our car. We notified the front desk of this and they immediately apologized but we still felt we were being rushed and hustled. In response to our displeasure, our room was upgraded to one with a view of the ocean. You do not have to pay their high fees for parking as there is ample parking nearby the hotel, just look for the 2hr parking signs which allow you to park overnight and save you $20.

Lobby is a bit dated and the hotel bar closes way too early. The business center is not free as one would expect for a 4-star hotel. The concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The location is great but you need to drive to the main part of the town as it is a bit of a walk to the better restaurants and shops.

This is probably just an anomaly, the faucet temperature was inconsistent suggesting that it is not maintained.

Room Tip: Don't be pressured to park your car in the hotel overnight, find street parking if you are not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we share your comments with our team. We are working on remodeling all of the bathrooms as well as recertification for U.S. Green Building Council LEED®-EB in support of our green efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Loved this hotel. Clean, contemporary and good location. Expedia over booked and we were given a room with two double beds instead of a king. Hotel tried their best to compensate for this error - excellent customer service and I'll certainly be going back.

I also loved their breakfast and the fact that they had a duvet and not a blanket. Honestly, after traveling the world, that is a make or break for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

PROs: friendly staff with kid-friendly attitude from the bellmen to the waiters; location to wharf and trail that heads to Cannery Row, breakfast buffet is high quality and good value for the money, artwork and nautical theme, Aquarium package is also nice, pet friendly. WARM COOKIES AT CHECK-IN!!

CONs: no air conditioning (even in low 70s weather the rooms are stuffy), small rooms compared to the Marriott which is next door, hallway noise easily comes into the room, decor is dark (again, compared to the Marriott, which seems so bright in color), definitely feels older.

We left the window open one afternoon to cool the room while we went to the aquarium. When we returned the room, it smelled like smoke! Someone must have been smoking in the courtyard and it drifted in. We asked for a fan to circulate the air and for housekeeping to spray the room; however we only got the fan and had to keep the window closed the rest of the night. This was frustrating because of how warm the room got, and my wife, who is pregnant, could not get comfortable.

Overall this is a quality hotel. Guests are treated well. I really can't complain that much.

However next time I will probably stay at the Marriott: the rooms there are larger, beds are more comfy, they gave my toddler a stuffed animal (made his day), the decor is brighter and windows larger, rooms have a/c and it essentially is the same distance to Cannery Row. Plus I will get my Marriott Rewards points.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank DosLagosDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Congratulations to you and your wife with a new baby on the way!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we share your comments with our team. We were happy to hear you enjoyed the homemade cookies and we hope you had a great time at the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

We thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I come here once a year and stay for a few days on business. It is very centrally located but not in the "heart" of the touristy area, which I think is a plus. It is a short drive down to the warf, or a nice morning walk. But you are right in the heart of downtown, so there is plenty to do if you want to walk out the doors of the hotel and find some place tasty to eat.
The rooms are very comfortable. They do not have air conditioning, only heat, but that is often not needed. Open the door to your little balcony, and you will get all the cool breeze you need. It is truly wonderful to wake up to the sound of seagulls and sea lions. Don't try and feed them though as I have made that mistake, and they will never leave you alone (the seagulls I mean). The amenities are nice, with a good selection of places to eat, and an inhouse brewery. The workout center is serviceable. The beds comfy and clean. They have recently done some remodeling to the place and so the interior design of the rooms is even better than before. Really like this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tylskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experience at the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback about the guest rooms. We are working on remodeling all of the bathrooms as well as recertification for U.S. Green Building Council LEED®-EB in support of our green efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I usually don't stay at the places in this price range, but it was the last night of my vacation, and I was ill, so needed pampering. Very nice property, spacious room, excellent service everywhere. Food at the main restaurant was also excellent. Great location to be in for a rainy day, as was a quick stroll to the wharf, but when it started to rain, an easy walk back. They have thought through everything, including that you can leave your car in the ramp until 3 on the day of checkout.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caspersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $172 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing