We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Atascadero, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family Reunion”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We recently celebrated our oldest daughter's birthday with a family reunion at the Portola Hotel. We had seven beautiful rooms and were treated like royalty by the hotel staff. Jack's restaurant provided us with their private dining room and tailored a menu for our dinner which included items for the grandchildren and those with special dietary needs. The restaurant was magnificent. We were also treated to a Sunday brunch party, for one of our granddaughters, in the private dining room. The Sunday brunch was wonderful and a great value. The women also thoroughly enjoyed the spa with massages and pedicures. The children greatly enjoyed the Treasure Hunt and the staff was so helpful to the little ones running around the hotel completing their treasure maps.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for choosing the Portola Hotel & Spa for your family reunion. We were pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay, Jacks Restaurant and the Spa On the Plaza and we look forward to welcoming everyone back soon.

We wish your daughter a very Happy Birthday and thank you again for your kind words.

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    767
    317
    160
    76
See reviews for
723
845
75
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel. It was really pleasant. The hotel is close to the wharf, and not too far away from the Aquarium either. Our room was nice, clean, comfortable. We had a package with breakfast. The breakfast was nice (though the croissants were a bit dry), the freshly made waffles and omelets were really good. We used valet parking, as it was just slightly more expensive than public parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank potzika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

High praise for Anne Roberts. At the last minute my boss wanted to take six clients to one of the areas most sought after restaurants. A large convention was being held in Monterey and all the best restaurants were booked solid. Anne was able to get us a reservation at exactly 7:30PM. She made it look so easy and she made me look so good. Thanks Anne!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I recently stayed at the Portola with my family for a long weekend and enjoyed my stay overall. The restaurants were convenient and offered great service and food. The bar was also cozy and featured live music on Saturday evening. I did not use the pool/spa area, so I can't comment on that. The rooms were standard but the building is oddly shaped and my room was very far from the elevator. My room did face the street and there was some noise from traffic. I would suggest asking for a room facing the plaza/courtyard. The rooms contained a safe and small fridge which was nice to store milk for my young child, as well as snacks.
The location was great. I had previously stayed on cannery row and preferred to be some distance from the busy crowds but close enough to walk or bike over to the aquarium. The hotel is especially close to the marina although I enjoyed walking down the main Street - Alvarado - which featured several restaurants, bars and shops.
I would definitely stay here again but would request a room close to the elevator that faced the courtyard and not the street.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard, close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA_tao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

From check-in to check-out we loved our stay. The staff was so incredibly helpful and nice. The room was great as was the hotel. I walked down the hall on every floor to look at all the old historical photos of Monterey adorning the walls. Head out the north entrance from the lobby and look to the left to see a giant map of the Monterey path of history. It is only a 25-35 min walk that does a loop around the historic downtown area(yellow markers imbedded in the sidewalk mark the path) and I highly recommend it.
Wonderful location, beautiful hotel with employees who truly want you to enjoy every moment of your trip. I don't think I would ever stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

So after years of staying at the Portola for a day or two a couple of times a month I've learned some things. First the good...nice comfortable rooms, always clean and if you need anything the staff is great and always helpful. Now the bad...the few times I had a car parking isn't free for guests. They charge for wifi access. No air conditioning, rarely needed but when it's needed it's needed. Can be noisy depending on your room location.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jef88ftlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we were happy to hear you have stayed at the Portola a time or two over the years. We do have rooms with air conditioning available on the top floors of the main building; please feel free to inquiry the next time you are at the Portola Hotel, which we hope is soon!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Portola is a nice enough place to stay in Monterey, but the whole layout is just a bit strange. The room in which I stayed could not have been further form the elevator four long hallways and three turns later I reached my room. Two comfy twin beds and a limited view greeted me as I went entered. The beds provided a restful night's sleep, but the bathroom is an adventure. If I was 4'10", the bathroom counter would have been the perfect height. Leaning far over for every task in the morning is annoying. The shower head was awful with a limited spray. But the strangest aspect of this hotel is the odd arrangement of the various wings of guest rooms: some are across and open courtyard and some are out back in a remote wing. Has always struck met as just a bit odd. All in all an OK place to stay in Monterey.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the main building, otherwise you'll be trekking all over the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JChB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We value you as a guest and we want you to know that we greatly appreciate your feedback.

We are constantly striving to improve our Hotel to make your stay more comfortable. We are in the middle of a full bathroom remodel as well as USGBC LEED®-EB Recertification.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 56 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing