We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I love Monterey. I also enjoy staying at the Portola Hotel and Spa, but there were some things in the hotel room that I didn't expect.

We had a nice room overlooking the courtyard on the 5th floor, but the shower could use a thorough cleaning. We had to use a towel to turn the short head flow. Another thing was that our neighbor above or next door's heater made a very loud hum in our room while on.

The positives are the staff. They are very personable and professional. I definitely would come back and maybe stay on a higher floor.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 5150rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Portola Hotel & Spa and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and do share your experience with our team. If you have additional information about your room or the room number, please reach out to jolsen@portolahotel.com so we may look your noted feedback.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,487)
There are newer reviews for Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great location, walking distance to Cannery Row area, Downtown Monterey, and Fisherman's Wharf. Excellent and helpful staff, from reservations, front desk, Jack's to valet. Everything greatly improved from a few years ago. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corleneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at the Portola Hotel in September with my boyfriend and we had an amazing time. The hotel is in a perfect location - right by Fisherman's Wharf and about a mile walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. There is also a nice path nearby for walking, running, biking, etc. Our room was perfect - a king harbor view room. The seals were a little noisy early in the morning, but we enjoyed that because it is a part of the experience and actually a perk of being so close to the water. :)

We had the breakfast buffet with bottomless mimosas at Jacks Restaurant one morning, which was so yummy! I am from Las Vegas and thought that Jacks breakfast buffet was a lot better than any other brunch buffet I have had here in the casinos. We also tried craft beer and appetizers at Peter B's, which was good and cheap for happy hour. Overall, we loved our stay and definitely will be returning. I have already recommended the hotel to some family and friends, and I think Monterey in general is a must-visit destination. I loved the beautiful scenery along the 17-mile drive and also Big Sur.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleMaria07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed her Nov. 22-34. Big hotel great location.
Fisherman's wharf less than a minute away, cannery row and monterey aquarium half mile away which is very walkable with a nice scenic walk ( my 5yr old son enjoyed the walk). Room is big and clean, nice balcony with a view. You do tend to her noise usually the sea lions lol

Stayed: November 2013
Thank fvillota1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were happy to hear you and your family explored the area and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return and hope to have you back in Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for the Big Sur half marathon and the hotel was just perfect. Location wise was great as it was by fisherman's wharf and right by the start and finish of the race. Race expo was also at the adjoing conference center. Rooms at the adjacent building was huge with a balcony and we were able to bring along our small dog since it is a pet-friendly hotel. K coffee maker was a treat. Fitness center was adequate with machines and some free weights. Went for dinner at Jack's restaurant and was fortunate that we were able to used our Travelzoo dinner voucher for their great menu selection. The night before the race they even offered an all-you-can-eat pasta feed for that much needed carbo loading. Self-parking was just around the corner and connects conveniently to our building. Hotel staff were great as well and we'll definitely be going back whenever we need a place to stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilbert5361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Walk to the wharf, short drive to Cannery Row, this location is great. The rooms are okay for the price. Was there for a conference, and didn't eat in the restaurant, but the food was not at all memorable. I stayed on in town after the conference ended, and I'm glad I decided to move hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just got back from Portola last week and really enjoyed the visit to Monterey. The hotel it self is ok.......I just prefer a smaller hotel, this place is huge and takes awhile to get from room to lobby and restaurants and stuff. Not that I mind walking but there's isn't that personal touch at a big place like this. Its really nice, the breakfast buffet was delicious, and the location was perfect. Walked easily to Cannery Row (a little less than a mile) and the Wharf is pretty much right outside the lobby. Rooms were equipped with any and everything we could need and super clean/nice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauralynnparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and do hope you will return to visit us again soon. Please let us know while you are here if there is anything we can do to make your stay a more personal experience.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 56 in Monterey
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $203 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing