We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds... Odd layout!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy beds... Odd layout!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a great night sleep here, lovely bed & I really liked the nautical/ seaside decor. However the layout is odd & depending on which room you're in you can walk outside a few times & have to get 2 different lifts to get from the car park to your room. Location is great however...

Room Tip: If you're parking a car then enquire about a room that's nearer that side of the complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    757
    316
    155
    75
See reviews for
705
835
75
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the average rating of 3.5-4.0 stars for my wife and two boys (1&3), yet after staying there, I'm at a loss for why folks rated it so high. They still charge for WiFi at verious speed levels (weak) and the cheapest throughput at 20 bucks is 2Mb which could not even stream videos using iTunes or Netflix -> turn to reenting a $15 movie, another ouch! They also charge 20 bucks a night for parking, both of which, IMO, is OUTDATED and an old way to extract more money from their guests for an already way too expensive accomdations.

After going back and reading the comments, folks tend to give a high rating for Monterey, NOT the hotel which scews the results. My review is soely based on the hotel itself. Monterey rocks, but this hotel needs a major refresh, DEEP cleaning and needs to STOP with the $40 per night fees for items that most hotels offer for FREE nowadays!!!

Likewise, it's a 30 minute walk up and down hills to get to downtown. Yes, the wharf is 5 mins away and cool, but after an hour of that, you're stranded. Also, it apprears they place travelers w/kids near the pub which is loud and you can hear people drunk-talking until the close. They tend to use the bushes as a urnal too which presents a nasty smell by the entrance to rooms.

Lastly, the pool was a joke. It's accross the street and very different in person.

Recommendations;
- Stop charging $20 bucks a night for parkign to stay at your over-priced hotel
- Stop charging for Internet, especally as verious speeds, cheap shot IMO
- Clean the carpets and update the docor/rooms
- Lower you rates to say $119 per night, AT MOST!
- Change the pool pic in ad

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, closer to the
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Right in the centre of Monterey, ideal location to walk to the pier and explore the town. Rooms are large and well appointed. No air conditioning but the fan is generally enough in this climate. If you are lucky you can pick up the free wifi from the conference centre that is part of the hotel, to avoid wifi hotel charges. The pool is a decent place to relax, but there is little shade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed one night with our two small children (3 & 6). The room was very spacious and pleasant. We had a nice view of the neighborhood and some historic buildings. The location was ideal and we were able to walk to the beach, fisherman's wharf and downtown Monterey. Would definitely stay again. Would also recommend the room service from Peter B.'s Pub. We enjoyed a couple nice pints of ale on the balcony.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miwa&Ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had a great time here with my partner, stayed September 2013. Location is brilliant - short walk to shops/restaurants and the wharf area. Around 15 min walk to Aquarium - well worth a visit. Nice to go for a walk along the ocean front which is minutes from hotel and saw plenty of seals, some dolphins and sea otters from both the path and especially when kayaking in ocean.

Rooms were very large (2 queen beds) and we had no noise problem - we were overlooking the inner courtyard. Went to the micro brewery which had some good ales. Staff at reception very helpful. Based on the rate we paid we thought it was very good value.

One minor point was parking at $17 a night - seemed excessive however our overall rate was still competitive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendal_Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I booked the Portola due to its location in downtown Monterey. The hotel itself is pretty with a theme that carries out throughout the lobby and rooms. The K-Cup machine in the room is a nice touch, as are the lush and comfortable beds. And, the location is very central.

But, there are a lot of downsides. First, there is no air conditioning in the rooms--only heat. There is a ceiling fan, but I had to keep my windows open the entire trip to try and keep my room cool. This means that all of the noise of downtown Monterey leached through my window--making it hard to fall asleep and being very distracting.

While the rooms have nice HD TVs, none of the content they display is in HD. And while the Wi-Fi is fast, if you don't buy unlimited Wi-Fi when you book, the fees are ridiculous. As are the $4 small bottles of water in the room.

Basically, it's like any other average hotel with lots of up-charges. But, there's no air conditioning--so, hopefully you enjoy the sounds of Monterey.

Room Tip: Buy the business package ($20 more), and get free wi-fi, parking, and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was here for a business meeting. It is a nice hotel. Parking garages are near and fairly inexpensive. It is walking distance from the Wharf. I would recommend heading there for some clam chowder at the Fisherman's Grotto Restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#12 of 55 in Monterey
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing