We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing and relaxing! Great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Refreshing and relaxing! Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a long weekend and had a very relaxing yet entertaining time. Portola is an amazing establishment. The hotel is very classy and the staff very warm. There is so much to do and see right there! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgarant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    743
    312
    153
    72
See reviews for
693
821
75
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our stay at the Portola Hotel and Spa was the BEST!!

You can't beat the location of the hotel, everything is walking distance. Our room had a great bay view. The rooms were great, bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful.

We had a good time hanging out at Peter B's too!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

As the author of two California Coastal resort/hotel guidebooks--I know well what makes a place extra special. Everything else being equal in a prime property, it is the exceptionally helpful and friendly staff who are always at the ready to assist in any fashion that makes a place truly memorable. And this is definitely the case with the Portola. Perfection in the human experience is no accident--it is a mataphor for the "top-down" style of management. You will likely come away from a weekend stay at the Portola raving just as much, or more, about the cool staff members encountered as the extraordinary culinary offerings of fresh, locally sourced food, the great times in their Peter B's Brew Pub, or the absolutely front-row-center location in the heart of historic old-town Monterey. Did you know that the only place in America that exceeds Monterey's number of historic colonial-era structures is Williamsburg, VA? I could go on and on, but the bottom line is the Portola receives an A+ review from me. Highly recommended equally for a romantic getaway or a corporate retreat/meeting. Bravo Portola--for getting it right!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeysofdiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the Portola Hotel & Spa. I had no idea there were so many historical sites within walking distance - although I have to admit that the hotel was so fun that I didn't want to leave. Peter B's has great food and fantastic micro-brews - crafted right on site. We loved Kevin's (the brewmaster) blonde and amber ales, and 15 HD TVs? Come on...this has to be the best place on the Peninsula to watch a game. If you can pull yourself away - have dinner in Portola's fine dining restaurant, Jacks. Their new oyster bar has three kinds of yummy offerings including Barbecued Oysters served with a Chipotle Wash. For an entree, the scallops are big and meaty and intensely flavorful and the restaurant is part of the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Seafood Watch Program so they support and encourage sustainable fishing and farming. This hotel is a winner!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great place to stay for conference or visiting Monterey. Walking distance to wharf and a nice walk to cannery row. Nice rooms. Restaurant and bar looked nice too. They loaned us umbrellas for a walk in the rain

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Losgatosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The rooms- plantation shutters, comfortable beds, and the Keurig coffee maker is a nice touch (bring your own flavors!).

Convenient- It's right in town. Close to everything you could want.

View- I had a partial view of the bay and even though it was partial it was excellent

Sleep quality- beds are very comfortable.

Brewery on location!! Yes- it's excellent and well-situated with an outdoor fireplace.

Jacks restaurant has excellent breakfast and high quality service.

Room Tip: Book via a travel agent and get the breakfast at Jack's included. You will not see this option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitalexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

From the moment we stepped into this hotel until the time we called the valet and checked out the following afternoon, my friend and I felt genially and graciously welcomed. The hotel itself, where I had stayed years ago when it was a Lamplighter property, has succeeded in joining contemporary style and convenience to old-fashioned hospitality. Every staff member we encountered seemed intent upon giving us the very best service possible, from the reception desk to the room maids to the dining staff. The welcome was warm, too; not merely a chilly correctness. Dinner at Peter B's Brewpub was delicious and the breakfast buffet was creative, even spectacular, in its creativity. The staff that kept coffee coming at our morning meeting could not have been more willing to help. The rooms are comfortable and the location excellent. I think every visitor will depart reluctantly and plan to return! Thank you all very much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing