We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pacific(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Monterey Marriott(Monterey)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Hotel(Monterey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colton Inn(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,662)
Filter reviews
2,662 results
Traveler rating
1,224
823
351
180
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,224
823
351
180
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrew pubjack's restaurantfisherman's wharfwarm cookiescannery rowchocolate chip cookiesceiling fanconvention centerbreakfast buffetself parkingwithin walking distanceper dayupon checkbeautiful hotelmonterey baysea lionswhale watching
Filter
Updating list...
1,677 - 1,682 of 2,662 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the Portola Hotel & Spa. I had no idea there were so many historical sites within walking distance - although I have to admit that the hotel was so fun that I didn't want to leave. Peter B's has great food and fantastic micro-brews - crafted right on site. We loved Kevin's (the brewmaster) blonde and amber ales, and 15 HD TVs? Come on...this has to be the best place on the Peninsula to watch a game. If you can pull yourself away - have dinner in Portola's fine dining restaurant, Jacks. Their new oyster bar has three kinds of yummy offerings including Barbecued Oysters served with a Chipotle Wash. For an entree, the scallops are big and meaty and intensely flavorful and the restaurant is part of the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Seafood Watch Program so they support and encourage sustainable fishing and farming. This hotel is a winner!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great place to stay for conference or visiting Monterey. Walking distance to wharf and a nice walk to cannery row. Nice rooms. Restaurant and bar looked nice too. They loaned us umbrellas for a walk in the rain

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Losgatosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The rooms- plantation shutters, comfortable beds, and the Keurig coffee maker is a nice touch (bring your own flavors!).

Convenient- It's right in town. Close to everything you could want.

View- I had a partial view of the bay and even though it was partial it was excellent

Sleep quality- beds are very comfortable.

Brewery on location!! Yes- it's excellent and well-situated with an outdoor fireplace.

Jacks restaurant has excellent breakfast and high quality service.

Room Tip: Book via a travel agent and get the breakfast at Jack's included. You will not see this option on the Portola website. $18/value and it is worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitalexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

From the moment we stepped into this hotel until the time we called the valet and checked out the following afternoon, my friend and I felt genially and graciously welcomed. The hotel itself, where I had stayed years ago when it was a Lamplighter property, has succeeded in joining contemporary style and convenience to old-fashioned hospitality. Every staff member we encountered seemed intent upon giving us the very best service possible, from the reception desk to the room maids to the dining staff. The welcome was warm, too; not merely a chilly correctness. Dinner at Peter B's Brewpub was delicious and the breakfast buffet was creative, even spectacular, in its creativity. The staff that kept coffee coming at our morning meeting could not have been more willing to help. The rooms are comfortable and the location excellent. I think every visitor will depart reluctantly and plan to return! Thank you all very much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Can't believe we didn't know about this hotel before--we walked right out the door to the Maritime Museum, to restaurants and shops downtown, and across the street to the wharf for seafood. There was even a crafts fair, the Old Town historic district and a jazz festival right there, too. Hard to beat the location.

The unassuming exterior of the hotel belies the casual elegance inside--very nice bar with fireplace and leather armchairs, lively pub with on-site brewery, pretty dining room (breakfast buffet is impressive, to say the least). Our room was spacious and nicely done up, with comforters, armchair, desk area--and very quiet.

Room Tip: Inside above an empty courtyard--no noise at all.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCM150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews