We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great overnight experience!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked this hotel for my family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers). The hotel has great service, a beautiful lobby with an atrium, great location, heated pool and large spa and they give fresh baked chocolate chip cookies which my kids loved. The room was nice enough but they only offer a king bed or 2 doubles to choose from. If you have small children the 2 double beds would work but not with teenagers. The beds were just too small. The best part of this hotel is the location to everything you went to Monterey to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the street if traffic noise would interrupt your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crushing73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    778
    322
    163
    75
See reviews for
733
851
75
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a conference, but had time to play in addition. It's a pretty walk along the bay to the Aquarium and lots of fun places to eat. I didn't get to use thr spa services, but would have loved to.
The room was nicely decorated, with white shutters instead of curtains and a super comfy bed.
Definitely a place to recommend for a vacation or conference!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wow, what can we say. This property is almost right at the wharf and our room overlooked a pedestrian walkway. The room was well appointed and we loved the look of the plantation blinds. Although we have seen more upgraded bathrooms (ie: no granite), the bath was fine too. I think the bed was comfortable, my husband said it could have been more comfy.

The real plus for this hotel is its location. The front desk was super helpful. We asked for a specific room on the parking garage side so that we could roll our bikes in easily to our room and we were accommodated right away. The whole idea behind our trip was to bike the trail up to the Fort Ord area. The front desk also gave us cookies upon check in which is always fun.

Our favorite coffee shop (not Starbucks) was only a block up the street, so we were really happy for a great breakfast not too far away. So, we rode our bikes right out of our hotel room and never had to get in the car over the weekend if we did not want to.

Normally outside of what we want to spend, we found a good sale on hotels.com and another lady we met in the hot-tub got a good deal by booking her room 20 days out. Things to be aware of - parking in the garage is $17.00 per day with in/out privileges (although the lady we met got the parking included by booking in advance). Also beware of your room location. Some locations by streets or pedestrian walkways might be noisier at night. My guess is that the quietest rooms will be over the courtyard in the main building.

We have stayed many places in the area and this is now my #1 location. Just loved it. We did not even get to the spa services. Just another plus for this hotel.

Room Tip: Away from streets and pedestrian walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Portola is within walking distance to wharf and all rooms are spacious and quiet. We have stayed on the 6th floor with ocean view (large patio with chairs) and the 5th floor, where we enjoyed a Winter Special rate of $179 / Night; King Bed with daily in-room breakfast from Jack's Menu. Rooms are the same size (except the ocean view had a larger patio w/ several chairs). We chose Valet-Parking $20 / night over Self-Parking because our car was always available. Staff is professional, friendly and willing to do anything to accommodate. For years, we stayed on Pacific Street, but love not having to 'climb the hill' and we like walking the area and being able to go on tours directly from the hotel. Also, this hotel accepts pets, believe for a $50 cleaning deposit.

Room Tip: Subscribe to their newsletter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peesacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here a couple nights for a business trip. The hotel was nice overall and the service was good, but nothing really impressed me. I would say the biggest perk is its location, especially if a person is wanting to stay near old town Monterey, since everything is within walking distance. I would stay here again if I returned to the area, and may see a little more if I was staying for pleasure.

Room Tip: Our first room was on the south side of the hotel, and right against a busy/noisy street. I would m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasncheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had a wonderful time here on a winter break with my hubby. This hotel is no longer the fanciest in Monterey, but it does have an excellent location which means that walks by the Bay and to the Aquarium are just as doable as heading off for dinner. Lovely shops too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Short overnight for business. Loved the hotel. Rooms were spacious, staff was friendly. Nothing better than the cookie when checking in. Room service was fast and friendly. Cheeseburger and quesadilla were terrific. I tried a couple of their local made beers. Would enjoy sitting around in the restaurant with a pint next time while the kids go to the aquarium!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing