We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Nearby Hotels
Villa Franca Inn(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Castell Motel(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$317
$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$466
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$293
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$169
$149
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$179
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
$269
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,683)
Filter reviews
2,683 results
Traveler rating
1,235
831
353
180
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,235
831
353
180
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrew pubjack's restaurantfisherman's wharfwarm cookiescannery rowchocolate chip cookiesbreakfast buffetceiling fanconvention centerself parkingwithin walking distanceper dayupon checkbeautiful hotelmonterey baysea lionswhale watching
Filter
Updating list...
1,711 - 1,716 of 2,683 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a conference, but had time to play in addition. It's a pretty walk along the bay to the Aquarium and lots of fun places to eat. I didn't get to use thr spa services, but would have loved to.
The room was nicely decorated, with white shutters instead of curtains and a super comfy bed.
Definitely a place to recommend for a vacation or conference!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wow, what can we say. This property is almost right at the wharf and our room overlooked a pedestrian walkway. The room was well appointed and we loved the look of the plantation blinds. Although we have seen more upgraded bathrooms (ie: no granite), the bath was fine too. I think the bed was comfortable, my husband said it could have been more comfy.

The real plus for this hotel is its location. The front desk was super helpful. We asked for a specific room on the parking garage side so that we could roll our bikes in easily to our room and we were accommodated right away. The whole idea behind our trip was to bike the trail up to the Fort Ord area. The front desk also gave us cookies upon check in which is always fun.

Our favorite coffee shop (not Starbucks) was only a block up the street, so we were really happy for a great breakfast not too far away. So, we rode our bikes right out of our hotel room and never had to get in the car over the weekend if we did not want to.

Normally outside of what we want to spend, we found a good sale on hotels.com and another lady we met in the hot-tub got a good deal by booking her room 20 days out. Things to be aware of - parking in the garage is $17.00 per day with in/out privileges (although the lady we met got the parking included by booking in advance). Also beware of your room location. Some locations by streets or pedestrian walkways might be noisier at night. My guess is that the quietest rooms will be over the courtyard in the main building.

We have stayed many places in the area and this is now my #1 location. Just loved it. We did not even get to the spa services. Just another plus for this hotel.

Room Tip: Away from streets and pedestrian walkways.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Portola is within walking distance to wharf and all rooms are spacious and quiet. We have stayed on the 6th floor with ocean view (large patio with chairs) and the 5th floor, where we enjoyed a Winter Special rate of $179 / Night; King Bed with daily in-room breakfast from Jack's Menu. Rooms are the same size (except the ocean view had a larger patio w/ several chairs). We chose Valet-Parking $20 / night over Self-Parking because our car was always available. Staff is professional, friendly and willing to do anything to accommodate. For years, we stayed on Pacific Street, but love not having to 'climb the hill' and we like walking the area and being able to go on tours directly from the hotel. Also, this hotel accepts pets, believe for a $50 cleaning deposit.

Room Tip: Subscribe to their newsletter!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peesacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here a couple nights for a business trip. The hotel was nice overall and the service was good, but nothing really impressed me. I would say the biggest perk is its location, especially if a person is wanting to stay near old town Monterey, since everything is within walking distance. I would stay here again if I returned to the area, and may see a little more if I was staying for pleasure.

Room Tip: Our first room was on the south side of the hotel, and right against a busy/noisy street. I would make sure you avoid staying on this side of the hotel if possible.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasncheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had a wonderful time here on a winter break with my hubby. This hotel is no longer the fanciest in Monterey, but it does have an excellent location which means that walks by the Bay and to the Aquarium are just as doable as heading off for dinner. Lovely shops too.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews