We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steps from the sea, conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Indio, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Steps from the sea, conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for a conference and couldn't have been happier with my room. Good sized, comfortable and clean. Best yet I got a balcony with a view of the marina. I started every morning with a walk straight from the hotel onto the shoreline path to cannery row and then the pacific grove coastline. So beautiful and relaxing. The hotel and grounds have an overall peaceful feeling. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Great place to get away for business, it would also be a great base for exploring the area.

This is a large property with central parking and elevators. Some rooms can be quite far from the lobby, ask for a closer room if this old be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and a view! Some rooms can be quite far from the lobby, be sure to request closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loric1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    699
    286
    143
    67
See reviews for
649
762
70
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during our road trip from Oregon. We booked through Priceline and got a screaming deal. The room was very comfortable and modern. The location was the best quality. You are right at Fisherman's Wharf to watch the seals, look at the bay and browse the shops. The Portola sits on the Monterey Bay Coastal Trail which is a wide paved path and goes forever. The trail also takes you on about a 10-15 minute walk along the waterfront to Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The aquarium is a must. Cannery Row does have a Starbucks! We ate at the Cannery Row Brewery Company. Good beer selection and atmosphere. We enjoyed the area and the Portola so much we stayed an extra night!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Upon our check-in, We felt welcomed by valet, the front desk personnel, and conceigne. The warm chocolate chip oatmeal cookies at check-in were an added plus. The room coffee maker was a Keurig. Real ceramic cups too! Beds were extremely comfortable. There was over 150 cable channels. We walked to the MB Aquarium which was 1.2miles away, but the walk there was pleasant. We saw all kinds of birds sitting on rocks on the bay, seals, and sea lions were at different locations along our walk to the aquarium. Had a wonderful breakfast at a restaurant on Fisherman's Wharf which had a good view of the sea lions. Also, got a good fleeced lined jacket for $20.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyzlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great location and atmosphere at Portola, with an ice skating rink outside and shops leading to Fisherman's Wharf nearby. The check in experience was weird. The lady didn't seem to know or care that we wanted a nice room in a great location, with easy access to the spa. She placed us as far from civilization as she could get us. We walked a half mile through the hotel and up four floors to an unacceptable place. So we tried again, and this time the room was fine. We didn't suffer from excessive noise, because the conference we attended wasn't a wild bunch. We went out of the hotel for dinner and drinks. Loved the running path that took me all the way to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and back on foot.

Room Tip: Communicate your expectations and see a couple rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patient111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've been staying a this property a few time a year for the pasted several years, it's my favorite. Consistently comfortable, inviting, friendly, & clean. The locations is just right, near most of the touristy type attractions, and very near the local's favorite spots. I've stayed at many other Hotels in the Monterey area, I do and will continue to come back to Portola.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were happy with our 4 night stay in Monterey. The location was perfectly situated within walking distance to the Fisherman's Wharf and nearby restaurants. The lobby is beautifully decorated with holiday lights and comfortable chairs. The staff were very helpful and friendly, providing us guidance with directions and any questions we had. The room was clean and spacious with very comfortable beds and fully equipped bathroom. The poolside and jacuzzi are open until 10pm and well kept. In addition, Jack's bar lounge and restaurant provided a relaxing atmosphere and were convenient for room service as well as dining in. There is also a pub called Peter B's where you can try different microbreweries in a casual atmosphere to hang out and watch the game on TV by the bar.

Adjacent to the lobby are several stores displaying fashionwear, jewelry and sunglasses. We did not have time to experience the spa which provides a variety of services such as facials, massages and herbal treatments. There are also conference rooms located on the third floor.l

All in all, Portola Hotel and Spa is a conveniently located, well decorated, plush and friendly place to stay in Monterey. We give it 5 stars and will stay there during our next visit there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnyc3524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked a double room for 2 nights during Thanksgiving from an offer online.
We specifically requested a room in the quiet wing after reading reviews about the noise level of this hotel from T.A.
We even called the hotel and confirming a room in the quieter wing of the hotel.
Upon checking in, we reiterated the request to this lady, Marissa, and she said "yes, your room is find, it's in the quieter part of the hotel".
Low and behold, the first night, starting from 9pm and lasted to way past 1AM, the noises from the restaurant below was so loud, with drunk patrons.
The hotel is clean, the room is nice and the beds are great.
Unfortunately, if we can't sleep because of all the noise, what good is the room and beds?
The location of the hotel is great, but I would not stay in this hotel again after what happened.

Room Tip: I would recommend book early and get a house or condo through Homeaway. Or hopefully, upon checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drT&3ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing