We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
Monterey
1
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms were immaculate and the service excellent. They even serve warm cookies upon registration!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 2,573 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I went to Monterey to celebrate our anniversary. Portola was the perfect place to celebrate. The staff was excellent and the room was great. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here on our honeymoon trip around the States earlier this year. This was one of the best hotels we had stayed in during our trip in the US. When we arrived at reception, we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who even gave us a freshly baked cookie each. Our room was huge, there were 2 double beds and a large bathroom. The room was done up tastefully and the bed was really comfortable.
We ordered room service breakfast and the portions were just huge! We couldn't get used to the big portions in the States and ended up wasting most of the food unfortunately.
Really regretted not staying here for more than one night though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLille_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Unfortunately, we were only there for one night. We can think of no unkind words. The check in was great. We booked through priceline but were treated like royalty and given a wonderful room with an ocean view. The staff could not have treated us better. This hotel is literally a few steps from Fishermans Wharf,and very close to cannery row and other attractions. It has been a very long time since we stayed in a hotel this friendly and nice. The only noise we heard at night were the seals at the wharf. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you can enjoy Monterey for more than one night!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spend 2 nights at Portola w my girlfriend... we were able to walk everywhere around town. Lobby was very nice and room was good. Would stay there again if I come back to town. Close to Laguna Seca, Carmel, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to TripAdvisor. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a great spot, walking distance to the pier and to the aquarium. The hotel staff are very friendly and efficient. I stayed here for a conference at the hotel but I would stay at this hotel again if I was going for a personal trip. We did not have any issues with noise outside our room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiePesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a recent vacation to Northern California. It is a great boutique hotel with very nice rooms. I read where people had problems with noise but we had no such issue. The bar is great and you cannot beat the location....within steps to the Wharf. Booked through Priceline and even had a water view. Would recommend staying here. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $158 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing