We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Portola Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Awesome hotel location! The hotel is as centrally located in the city for any and all exploring. Shopping, dinning and entertainment are literally right out side the doors. Everything in town is within a 15 to 20 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel ambiance, dinning, bars, beds, bathrooms and pool area are all great. The only negative we found was that each room does not have individual air conditioning within the room. The rooms have a large ceiling fan and large glass doors that slide open leading to their balconies. It takes time to cool down the rooms. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,852 - 1,858 of 2,552 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

We arrived late Tuesday, November 8, 2011. We had booked through priceline ($145.00 / night ) and were expecting the standard "red headed step child room" ala priceline, but we were pleasantly surprised we had been upgraded to a Harbor View room. The room was very well appointed and spacious. The view of the harbor was terrific. The hotel is a large convention hotel, but it didnt feel that way. We had great service in the bar adjacent to Jacks Restaurant. The 17.00 parking fee is what it is. There is very little parking in downtown Monterey. You can always park across the street at the City garage for 7.00 / day. There is a starbucks right across the street from the hotel. The complimentary "kierug" sp? pods were awful, so, avoid those and just run over to starbucks. The only complaint about the harbor view room is the noise from the sea lions. Our first night, they barked all night long, but on our second and third nights, we barely heard them. Its kind of nice to hear them waking up in the morning, being from a land locked state (Oklahoma City). We actually checked out the next morning as we were driving down California Highway 1 to Hearst Castle. We checked back in to Portola Hotel for our last two nights, and were upgraded again to a Harbor View room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwfloral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Portola for a weekend getaway. Although we ended up with the Portola after getting our bid accepted on Priceline, it was one of the two places we had been looking at anyway. Be aware that if you do the Priceline route, you still have to pay the parking charge, which for us was $17 per day.

The hotel is quite large, and recently renovated. At check-in we received our warm cookies and I did ask for an “upper level” room, as suggested by many on Trip Advisor. I was given the choice of a room in the middle of the hotel, or one with a nice balcony overlooking the adjacent outdoor pedestrian shopping mall. The lady at the desk recommended the latter, which we took. Our room was very clean, modern, and comfortable. The only problem was the patio doors…while the inside of the room was renovated, I think the doors were from the original construction because they weren’t well insulated and hardly blocked out any noise. Thus, we heard quite a few people laughing/yelling down the mall outside late at night. In hindsight, I should probably have taken the room in the middle of the hotel.

The best aspect of the Portola is the location. Only a block or two away are a Starbucks, Pink Berry, and a number of other restaurants. We enjoyed the Monterey Crepe Company for breakfast and also Café Trieste for dinner. Walking in the other direction from the hotel is the wharf, with its own assortment of shops and restaurants. And the Monterey Bay Aquarium, while probably too far to walk, is only a few minutes drive away.

In the future, we would definitely return to the Portola, and just request a high room at the interior of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the adjacent pedestrian mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelerfromthe808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed here four nights in November for a convention. Rooms and hotel staff were very nice. The hotel is quite large and spread out, and our room was as far away from the elevators as you could get. The only negative was that our room was above a bar/restaurant that played loud music until 2:00am. This made it very difficult to sleep on Friday and Saturday night. Otherwise, no complaints about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Peter B's Brewpub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpacraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Spent a very pleasant 3 days here the first weekend in November on a room and breakfast package from Travelzoo. Buffet breakfast at Jack's was excellent; they had everything you could want for breakfast, including individually-made omelets with many choices of fillings.

Pros: After reading other reviews, we requested in advance a quiet room not too far from an elevator and garage parking, because we have trouble walking. They complied. Room had no balcony, overlooked a pedestrian-only lane with small shops, and had a small refrigerator. Everything was new (even a Keurig coffee pot), spotlessly clean, and in good working order. Bed was topped with several pillows, some firm, some soft, so they can please all types of sleepers. We gladly paid the $17/day self-parking garage fee; it was well worth it compared to other parking charges in area.

Cons: Weather was much colder than we were prepared for, but we managed, and it was lovely to come "home" to a warm room after walking to icy and windy Fisherman's Wharf. Their much-touted Monterey Marquee bed was so high off the floor it was difficult for me to climb in or out (I'm short), and not as comfortable as they purported it to be. You can't sit at the edge of the bed because it's so soft you'll slide off. They give you a coupon for a "free" mattress, but I wouldn't want one, even if it really was for free, sorry. We also found the comforter much too warm.

From the hotel, we drove to the Tin Cannery outlets and did some Christmas gift-shopping (really good prices!), Carmel, and Point Lobos. We definitely prefer staying in this hotel's area rather than on crowded Cannery Row. I would highly recommend the Portola Hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need and they will do their best to comply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotACrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is an older property, but it is in the heart of Monterey. Walking anywhere is easy. The rooms were nice and very comfortable. The area is teaming with places to go and things to see. Carmel is just minutes away. Lots of restaurants to choose from with great food.

Room Tip: Of course, a view of the bay would be great, but our patio view was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noencasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel has a fantastic location easy walk to many sites and restaurants. The room was very spacious and clean. Bed was the best I have ever had in a hotel. Very good value. No air conditioning, but cooled nicely for night and no internet which was annoying. However, very good and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canmac1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $165 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing