We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Fun”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
Ranked #24 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fun”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Awsome place for family and tourists. You must watch the movie first though or you wont understand anything. Good food and good fun!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keebler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    499
    278
    92
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Food is as food does”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Bubba Gump was on our list of to-do things ever since we first decided to go to Monterey. The attraction of watching sea life at the aquarium and then eating it at Bubba Gump was too great to overcome – and we’re really glad we went.

The restaurant is about as themed as it’s possible to get – everything is Bubba Gump including the menus (ping pong bats), the food liners (newspapers covering Bubba Gump) and the décor, covered in Forrest Gump movie memorabilia. The food itself was huge but tasty, although the main meals did arrive while we were still eating our starters. Hate it when that happens but we soon caught up.

The drinks were tasty and served in interesting glasses, although the light up glass I bought was a bit disappointing as it was all plastic while the others were glass. The nice store attendant swapped them around for me though so we all left happy.

The staff is great and fully trained in Gump trivia – expect to be tested on what you know while you eat. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinner break”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

They do not do reservations so be prepared to wait. It was not a long wait, don't get me wrong, but that's hard to explain to hungry children. The total time from being seated to getting our food was one hour and ten minutes, no excuses! The prices were extremely high for a chain establishment but the cool staff was a great perk up. We ordered from the kids menu five cheese and mac, one shrimp, two pizzas, one soda three apples juices, two lemonades, the adult side was two chicken sandwichs and one fish taco along with one soda with waters and a total of two beers. The total was $200, I think extreme for a chain restaurant that was "just ok" I will not be returning at that price. Sorry, but I travel with family and I am insulted and hurt when I am gouged at the cost of kids meals!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JacksBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“fast seating”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

the seating was fast for lunch time. the food was okay, not worth the price. the dessert sampler is not tiny in size! but great view of the sea, and sea lions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel_needlotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A little over the top”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We decided to try this out, despite the hokey look to it.

Although it's right on the water, the number of seats with a water view is extremely limited and the noise level inside the place is deafening. Definitely not the place for anyone with trouble hearing.

On the other hand, the menu was extensive and the food that we ordered was particularly good.

I could do without all of the movie trivia and the over-perkiness of the waitstaff. It wasn't particularly entertaining and felt a bit like we had to pass the test in order to eat.

I'd go again, but I would ask the waitperson to skip the scripts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mame90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing