We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
Ranked #22 of 305 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The food here was actually not bad. Great views of the Monterey Bay while dining. Promised a 20 minute wait for a table, and it was kept....20 minutes later we were seated.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hrcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    533
    294
    100
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Restaurant was great, the waiter tested us with some Forrest Gump trivia which was fun! There was loads of memorabilia on the walls from the film. Food was delicious & service brilliant :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Getting tired of the concept now”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice idea, but the menu really needs updated, the food is starting to look a little tired on the plate (presentation is fairly basic to be honest). You really are paying a premium for a branded restaurant that could do with a minor refresh. Not bad but I won't be returning for a few years. If you have kids, and they have seen the movie it makes sense, otherwise it is an expensive plate with shrimp, fries, coleslaw and a fountain soda.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I love Bubba Gumps!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Is it loud? Very. Is it touristy? Totally. Do I take every opportunity to eat at a Bubba Gump's? Yes I do! I love the food! I tease my husband it's the night he gets off easy dollar wise - because believe me we eat at pricey, upscale restaurants otherwise. Bubba Gump Shrimp Co is one of my guilty pleasures!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasperilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent food, but N-O-I-S-Y”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The kids love this place, and the food is decent, and the décor catchy for a themed restaurant. Prices are high, but this is to be expected on Cannery row. Our family of six cannot seem to get out of there for lunch at less than 100.00 with drinks and tip (sodas only, no alcohol). we have eaten here several times, and the one constant is noise - the place is usually packed and as a result not a good spot for a quiet family meal with conversation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrugalFamilyChico_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing