We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to go wrong”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
Ranked #23 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hard to go wrong”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have a soft spot for this place in my heart. Yes, it feels very "chain restaurant" compared to other places on Cannery Road, but I'm ok with it. I enjoy the folksy charm of the Forrest Gump theme. Went here for lunch the other day for the first time in a while (I've been making it a point to try other places). It was busy as heck (as always) and it's definitely a tourists stop. Whatever. We got seated quickly and received great service. The bar tender team of Steve and Scott were wonderful. Our drinks were never empty, and everything was done with a smile. These guys like their job. That matters to me. The food was good, although I had a little sticker shock from the fish n chips plate. They changed something about it (and you get more than I remember) but it was a few bucks more than I remember. Heck, I could just be getting old. All in all, good food, reasonable prices, and an interesting decor plus great service makes this a wonderful place to stop by if you're looking for more of an experience than top tier food :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caliguy227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    515
    286
    94
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We didn't order that”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We sat next to the window running the length of the restaurant looking at Monterey Bay. By far the best part of our lunch. The wait staff changed out after taking our order and our order was completely messed up. However, the manager came over and took the burgers that were messed up off the bill, gave those in our party that wanted some free chowder, and ensured everything went well from that point on. The burgers themselves were as good as anywhere else. However, the Shrimper's Catch 1 1/3 pound of shrimp was great. Reminded me of New Orleans.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bubba Gump”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Fabulous meal, great atmosphere, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Bear in mind we were a party of 21 and they were very busy. Staff were very attentive and helpful and went out of their way to be friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philippa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stateline, Nevada
Level Contributor
436 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Sit outside no waiting”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ok. Not too much to say. Took a little while to get food. Mac and chees and a chicken Caesar salad.

Food was good. Service was adequate. It is a tourist place but I was with my granddaughter and it was a good place to take a break from our walk.

If you sit near the bar or outside you don't have to wait for seating. Usually their is room and there are heaters outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My name is Forest...”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great service, good food, very cool atmosphere and location. I'd run back there again! Drinks are pricey, but you get to keep the glass on lots of them.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing