We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Piano Bar & Lounge”

The Sardine Factory
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sardine Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 308 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prescott
Transit: MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.
Description: Every city has that one can't miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory's cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine's "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge's live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Voted "Best Restaurant in Monterey" by Monterey County Herald and Carmel Pine Cone Readers. Celebrating over 49 years under the same ownership and management!
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We did not eat her, but enjoyed the piano in the lounge area with fantastic drinks. The piano talent was amazing and entertaining, the atmosphere romantic and fun, drinks great. We would definitely return here when visiting the area again. Very casual, pleasant, relaxing and fun. Ed H.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SardineFactory1, Marketing Coordinator at The Sardine Factory, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Ed,

Thank you for your informative five-star review! The Sardine Factory offers live piano talent by Dave Conley every Tuesday through Saturday from 7:30pm to close. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Monterey area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 450 of 894 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Went to the bar for Monterey Sardines, they were out of season but Mike was very personable and extremely helpful (he also mixes a great drink). All the staff were helpful and made it a great experience

2  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SardineFactory1, Marketing Coordinator at The Sardine Factory, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Jason,

Sorry the sardines were out of season. However, I am please to hear that you were able to enjoy Mike's award-winning bartering skills and had a great experience. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We went today for our wedding anniversary. We were sat at a semi private table in front of the fireplace in the Captains room. Beautiful, impeccable service, a wine list to amaze (we had Rombauer), 50 day aged steak was impeccable. We could not have asked for more on our anniversary...not cheap but really a wonderful visit and dinner....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Midh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SardineFactory1, Marketing Coordinator at The Sardine Factory, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Sardine Factory to celebrate your special occasion and for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your delicious food, wine, memorable atmosphere and great service. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Extremely slow service. A waiter has more tables than he could handle!! Artichoke soup was great! House salad was poor. Water refilled was terrific!!

I don't know if we will ever see our main course as we have been sitting for more than an hour and just got salad!!

1  Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SardineFactory1, Public Relations Manager at The Sardine Factory, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Phyllis,

I sent you a private message.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

It wasn't anything special, just meh. Can't say that I would recommend if you're only there one night. The shrimp was good, but cooled quite quick and tasted different when a different temperature. The bar selection wasn't anything special.

Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sardine Factory also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to The Sardine Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing