We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sardine Factory

Sardine Factory
Reserve with OpenTable
Sardine Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 298 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prescott
Transit: MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.
Description: Every city has that one restaurant you can’t miss, where celebrities feel at home and every guest feels like a celebrity. The Sardine Factory's cachet has made dining in this historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. The award winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Beef; winner the AAA Four Diamond Award and the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for over 25 years.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Completely enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We went today for our wedding anniversary. We were sat at a semi private table in front of the fireplace in the Captains room. Beautiful, impeccable service, a wine list to amaze (we had Rombauer), 50 day aged steak was impeccable. We could not have asked for more on our anniversary...not cheap but really a wonderful visit and dinner....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Midh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SardineFactory1, Marketing Coordinator at Sardine Factory, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sardine Factory to celebrate your special occasion and for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your delicious food, wine, memorable atmosphere and great service. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    203
    94
    48
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
222 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great tourist restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I've eaten here a few times over the years and always found the food good to excellent. I had a sole which was a generous portion in the conservatory section of the restaurant which is a GREAT room. Service was good for a "you're a tourist" joint. Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SardineFactory1, Marketing Coordinator at Sardine Factory, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Larry, Thank you for your continued patronage of the Sardine Factory. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your food, service and the Conservatory. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Extremely slow service. A waiter has more tables than he could handle!! Artichoke soup was great! House salad was poor. Water refilled was terrific!!

I don't know if we will ever see our main course as we have been sitting for more than an hour and just got salad!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SardineFactory1, Public Relations Manager at Sardine Factory, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Phyllis,

I sent you a private message.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

It wasn't anything special, just meh. Can't say that I would recommend if you're only there one night. The shrimp was good, but cooled quite quick and tasted different when a different temperature. The bar selection wasn't anything special.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“It ranks high with many others.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We arrived on a Tuesday night and was seated right away. We actually got to sit in the glassed in area. It was unique and if you rather sit somewhere else then there were other rooms and areas to eat. It is a relaxed restuarant with great atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SardineFactory1, Public Relations Manager at Sardine Factory, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Jolis,

Thank you for your five-star review and for the cool photo of the Conservatory (glassed area). I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine Factory also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Sardine Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing