We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the name fool you!”
Review of Sardine Factory

Sardine Factory
Reserve with OpenTable
Sardine Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prescott
Transit: MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.
Description: Every city has that one restaurant you can’t miss, where celebrities feel at home and every guest feels like a celebrity. The Sardine Factory's cachet has made dining in this historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. The award winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Beef; winner the AAA Four Diamond Award and the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for over 25 years.
Murrieta, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't let the name fool you!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Ambience superb, service impeccable close to the bay and all hotels on Cannery Row. No need to drive, it is an easy walk.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gullliver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    208
    95
    51
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
824 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Very good food at good prices”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great wine list, good food selection. Eclectic environment with different rooms for different moods. Nathan is an excellent server.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Play Misty for Me was filmed here.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've been wanting to try this place ever since I saw the movie "Play Misty For Me" (Clint Eastwood's Directorial Debut) back in the early 1970's! I finally tried it, and I'm so glad I did! My friend and I sat at the bar and talked to "Big Mike" the bartender. We ordered appetizers (Shrimp, and a little pizza), and drinks. The bar serves free freshly-made potato chips that are addictive! Then, David the Piano Man came in about 7:30. I walked over, put some money in his tip jar, and said "I've been waiting 40 years to do this....Play Misty For Me!" and he did. Try it out for Happy Hour. Say "Hi" to "Big Mike" for me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dbrgdmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BACK IN TIME”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The food was excellent . The menu was varst and the wine list fe nominal . It almost felt like you were in the dinning room at Hearst castle it had that 1930's look and feel about it . At the front it had a piano bar ,which was nice on arrival , we had a cocktail before we were lead out the back to the Restuarant . Our only compliant was the waiter got the meals mixed up so there for we ate separately for a short period , but he was more than apologetic and paid for our desert . Nice romantic setting for couples .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Delicious and special”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We visited the Sardine Factory on our 29th anniversary. After a day of hiking at Point Lobos, we were ready for dinner by 5:30. We looked online and saw that there were many early dinner specials that included soup or salad and dessert.
We were seated in the conservatory soon after we arrived. Everything looked beautiful for the holidays, with a little bit of kitsch. Our only complaint of the whole meal was that there was no mention and no menu given for the early specials. My husband checked on his phone, and was able to bring up the special menu online. If you offer specials, why not make it known to your customers?
I had the abalone bisque, which was dreamy, and my husband had a green salad that was fresh and delicious. Our waiter, Gary, recommended the chicken in Madera wine and the cioppino, so I had the chicken and my husband had the cioppino. Both were exceptionally good. For dessert, we both had the chocolate mousse with raspberry sauce. It was huge. Had we known, we would have shared one. It was so good, though, my husband ended up finishing his, and I ate all of the mousse and just left a little of the praline shell. We also had decaf with our dessert, which came in our own little pot. It was hot and full-bodied, which is often not the case when we order decaf in restaurants. Kudos to the Sardine Factory for making decaf worth drinking.
The Sardine Factory is not inexpensive, but it is worth the price for the high quality of the food and service. If you go early, don't forget to ask for the specials menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwheatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine Factory also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Sardine Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing