We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sardine Factory

Sardine Factory
Reserve with OpenTable
Sardine Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prescott
Transit: MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.
Description: Every city has that one restaurant you can’t miss, where celebrities feel at home and every guest feels like a celebrity. The Sardine Factory's cachet has made dining in this historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. The award winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Beef; winner the AAA Four Diamond Award and the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for over 25 years.
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

They have three rooms to choose from. We picked the atrium room in the back. Nice atmosphere. The service excellent and the entire restaurant staff were so nice. One flaw...I like Sand Dabs. I don't know why some cooks think they can use Sole instead but it has happened so often to me that I am afraid to order Sand Dabs. I spoke with the waiter about this before ordering them and he assured me that wouldn't be the case because Sand Dabs are thin and Sole is a wider fish. A wider fish was served to me and the flavor was not like a Sand Dab. Everything else was great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnitaS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    200
    93
    48
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Trapped in Time but Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

To the foreign visitor, this restaurant is a conundrum.

It comes with a great local reputation and is doubtless the place for the best dining in Monterey itself. Yet there are aspects about it that are hard to understand, let alone appreciate. The reclaimed fishing boat on the frontage to the restaurant is strange and almost Disneyesque. The signage advertising cocktails and happy hour seem to hark to a 1960's heyday, as does the interior of dark wood, rich brocades and the much vaunted conservatory, where we celebrated our anniversary. The wait staff in quite formal uniforms with sommelier distinguished from others by jacket color, carry an older world stuffiness that is a little out of place in the 21st century. The place prides itself on a long history playing host to dignitaries, the rich and the famous. There is even a book published about it, but there is something a little uncomfortable about the time warp you enter when visiting.

Yet despite all this the food is superb. The wine list is capacious and the wait staff knowledgeable and helpful. We had a wonderful meal with a wine choice that we were assisted with (not knowing a lot about local wines) and which was a great match. We left feeling that the experience had been great fun, if a little like a journey into the twilight zone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So good, we came back for more the next nite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Matt, the bartender makes awesome drinks! Nathan waited on us for dinner and he is a true professional! They have the best wine list we have ever seen. Very impressive!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MPattee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
149 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceptional wine cellar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hokey entrance with a sardine boat out front.looks like a themed fast food restaurant.Do not judge book by its cover.Inside is warm,beautiful with friendly staff and very knowledgable Sommelier.I have dined at Michelin 3 star restaurants all over the world and New York.Wine bible here a reason for wine lovers to dine here as they have a collection of very old California wines and from France.Best part they are not overpriced so the meal is basically free.Had sardines,surprised that they may have come out of a can but they were very good.The Steak was perfectly done.Had a great bottle of 1995 cab sav.have 3 days left in Monterey and I will probably go back and drink another fine bottle of wine.the decor in the Captains room with the glowing fire was very romantic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just don't ask for the set menu!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant on our first night in Monterey as the fixed price menu looked great and very reasonably priced for the area.
The restaurant is quite dark inside, it's beautiful, but quite old fashioned and decadent.
We were given menus and left for about 10 minutes to decide. Although there was still 30minutes before the fixed price menu finished, we were not given this menu and had to ask for it.
It is fair to say that the friendly, warm and attentive service that we experienced when we entered and were seated disappeared as soon as we asked for the "cheaper" menu.
Our waiter took 10 minutes to bring us the fixed price menu, and seemed to be whiling away the time until the time slot to order had ended.
We did order off the fixed price in the end, and the food was lovely. The constant supply of warm bread was also great.
In short, this restaurant is lovely, if a little pricey for drinks, but the service could do with modifying. We felt like we were cheapskates for wanting the fixed price menu, and felt quite uncomfortable for the rest of our meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine Factory also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Sardine Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing