We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How the upper half lives......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sardine Factory

Sardine Factory
Reserve with OpenTable
Sardine Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 298 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prescott
Transit: MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.
Description: Every city has that one restaurant you can’t miss, where celebrities feel at home and every guest feels like a celebrity. The Sardine Factory's cachet has made dining in this historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. The award winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Beef; winner the AAA Four Diamond Award and the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for over 25 years.
Crescent Ctiy, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“How the upper half lives......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had the opportunity to have dinner in the wine cellar reserved for groups & special occasions. I would have to say this was the most exquisite dining experiences I've ever had. You felt like royalty while dining, as the service Gary (and his assistant) provided was superb, the owners of the Sardine Factory have done an outstanding job in making one feel special and well treated. The food was excellent, and served very classy. Gary provided very interesting history of the restaurant and how the owners developed the wine cellar, etc.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frogfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    204
    94
    48
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fine dining is our hobby. Have traveled to Monterey Bay frequently for years and this was our first time dining at The Sardine Factory, and I could kick myself for not being a regular. Service. Impeccable. Ambience. Great. Food. Outstanding, perfectly prepared and presented. Wine list. Over the top excellent. Signed a $300+ bill (wine) and considered it a true bargain. Fabulous experience. A note: I would suggest dining later. Seems like first seating could be a little noisy and cramped. Sat down at 8:pm and was perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daroberts_ent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food - lousy service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food was very good but was not matched by the service. We had to ask for water no less than four times before it was eventually bought to the table after about 20 minutes. My unfinished cola was grabbed by another waiter who was keen to refill without my asking - not impressed at all!
This was a shame as the food was very good. The lighting is so low we asked for a flashlight as we could not read the menu - they do not have any flashlights! Need brightening up in more ways than one. Would not go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had dinner with a group of friends at The Sardine Factory. We were in a private room in the cellar. The whole experience was fantastic. The menu had been planned especially for us with the wines paired to each course. Every course also had it's own music paired to the course. The food and wine were fabulous and it was truly a memorable evening. I had not been to the Sardine Factory before but I will certainly put it on my list of must visit places when I return to the area next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nagal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice atmosphere and good but not great food. Highlights were the oysters and salads while the entree's werejust OK. Service was very good and wine service and selection excellent.
All in all an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiskeylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine Factory also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Sardine Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing