We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”
Review of Crown & Anchor

Crown & Anchor
Ranked #26 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Just happened on to Crown & Anchor by chance and it was a pleasant surprise. I'm usually not fond of Irish or British "Pubs" as they are usually too new (not authentic) and the food is usually below average. But not Crown & Anchor - very authentic, older feeling decor and the food was a pleasant surprise.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    161
    40
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nautical decor”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nautical history buffs will enjoy the décor. In addition to steaks and sandwiches, you'll find pot pies and corned beef with cabbage on the menu. I've never been to England, but I can easily imagine a place just like this exists somewhere in Liverpool.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tenskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good service with average Pub food”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went with a group of 12 for dinner. We all ordered a variety of items. The pub is quaint and our server was attentive. I had the Hot Crab and Shrimp Melt, and it was soggy. My husband had the beef sandwich, and thought it was OK. Servings were ample, so I don't think anyone left hungry. Food was well priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere & good food/drinks”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a great pub with excellent décor revolving around the British Navy. I just went with a couple of friends for appetizers and drinks - the service was quick and the staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend it if you want something a little different and not so touristy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mskingpin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun Pub Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place is always packed. I've been here a number of times and have never been able to get a seat. So I guess its popularity speaks for itself. I can't comment on the food but the bar staff is nice and the door men are usually really friendly. Check it out for it's lively atmosphere, and outdoor patio but be prepared to stand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Undaunted_Courage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown & Anchor also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crown & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing