We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to go for British atmosphere and food”
Review of Crown & Anchor

Crown & Anchor
Ranked #27 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good place to go for British atmosphere and food”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went here for a small dinner and to experience something different. Is fun once you understand the British English they speak here. At first it made my husband uncomfortable because he could not understand. English is not his first language. The only problem was that the waiter thought it was funny to tease him about this and that is wrong. You do not make fun of your customers if you want them to come back. I assume the waiter was american so why did he not switch to american after the first problem. This made the experience not as good as it could have been. The food was very good. The fish excellent and fresh. The pub was clean and the bathrooms small. If we make it back to Monterey we may try them again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    158
    40
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips!!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stopped here to grab a quick bite to eat and a cold drink. We ordered the fish and chips and we were not disappointed in the least bit. The batter was light and airy and the fish was fresh and the fries were very tasty. The wait staff was very friendly and service was on point, we did come before the dinner rush so it was not packed. I would definitely eat here again the next time I am in Monterey.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFlores98136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Bars”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I visit Monterrey about once or twice a year. A stop Crown and Anchor is ALWAYS on the agenda. Love the food, atmosphere and GUINNESS!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Noisy Bar unfriendly barmaid”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a noisy bar with a particularly unfriendly bar lady who was only interested in her regulars. Just had a drink here and didnt try the food as the atmosphere was not suitable for eating. Hard to find but not worth the search.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FredCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“After hours watering hole!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The crowd moves to this location with a wide of spirits and beer, it's famous for the hospitality and selection of menu specialities! the Barroom has a wide selection of adult beverages and house specials!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LongBeachTexasT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown & Anchor also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crown & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing