We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
Review of Crown & Anchor

Crown & Anchor
Ranked #25 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
NorCal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed this restaurant on a Friday evening. The server, Annie, was outstanding as was the drinks and food. I had a couple of beers that I'd not even heard of since serving in Mildenhall years ago. The food was served fairly quickly and was very good. I highly recommend this place, but suggest going early! By the time we left, around 6:30pm, it was already crowded and more were pouring in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch_Monroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    159
    40
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food for not a lot of quid.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Don't miss the bangers and mash. Fish and chips are good, Nelson's cottage pie is very authentic with just the right about of curry. Tea and beer very good. Staff is super attentive. Great experience. A little loud though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank johntrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel, Jerusalem
Level Contributor
270 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“nice christmas eve!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

we had our christmas eve dinner here with great vibes and lovely holiday decorations!
good british pub hidden under street level!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amiroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rep of ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Door security friendly. Staff friendly. Steaks were unreal. If ur hunger pay it a visit.

We were delighted we choose this spot

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buddyandsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little side street gem”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. Great energy, magnificent selection of beer on tap and really reasonable prices. The food is wonderful and authentic to British cuisine. The atmosphere is fun and the staff works diligently to keep things moving. The sandwiches are great for lunch or dinner and the dinner menu is wonderful. Leave room for the Sticky Toffee desert. It is exceptional.

Helpful?
Thank Brollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown & Anchor also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crown & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing