We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Special!”

Old Fisherman's Grotto
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Fisherman's Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scott Street
Description: Located on historic Fisherman's Wharf with stunning views of the Monterey Harbor, Old Fisherman's Grotto is a "must visit" restaurant. The "Grotto" has rightfully earned its worldwide reputation for only the finest cuisine in a superb atmosphere and service. Featuring fresh seafood from sustainable sources including Macadamia Crusted Halibut, Hawaiian Swordfish, Ultimate Seafood Pasta, live Crab and Lobster, the Grotto also offers a variety of the finest "Certified Angus Beef". Start with our award-winning clam chowder and finish by indulging in one of our fresh house-made desserts. Enjoy a bottle of wine from our 2014, 2015 Wine Spectator Award Wine list with over 200 selections specializing in local vineyards. AAA 3 Diamond Rating, Monterey Peninsula Chamber "Business Excellence" Award Winner. 2010 1St Place "West Coast Chowder Competition", "Best Chowder" Monterey County for 12 consecutive years , Winner "Best Calamari" three consecutive years in the Monterey County's Weekly Magazine "People's Choice Award". No high chairs. No strollers. No booster chairs. Children crying or making loud noises are a distraction to other diners and as such not permitted in the dining room.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always Special!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews on various restaurants in the area (just to compare; we only had one night for a romantic dinner) it was a no brainer to return to OFG. Our meal was delicious from the calimari appetizer to our entrees (I had the petrale sole).Their famous clam chowder is so creamy and delicious...my favorite anywhere! And of course, the rose for the lady at the end of the meal...it's been a touch I remember in every visit. We may only get to Monterey every few years, but my choice of dining is always here and it is always a special treat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JN_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    518
    162
    69
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have visited the Old Fisherman's Grotto several times over the last few years. Although the experience during our first visit was nice, gradually I have become less & less impressed. The food is generally ok, but for the price you pay I would expect a whole lot more. This last time around I ordered a red snapper with a tomatillo salsa & mixed vegetables. The fish came devoid of any of the salsa on it & a very small smear of it on the side. When I brought it to the attention of the waitress, she said, "that is the sause there", point to the small smear. She did bring me some of the salsa on the side after, I have to say it did make the fish so much more savory. The vegetables included brussel sprouts, which were very hard & under cooked. The thing that really didn't impress me was that although there was plenty of wait staff around, they spent more time conversing among themselves rather than being attentive to your needs. It almost made you feel that you were the one who should be happy that they allowed you to eat at their restaurant. Not very impressed at all. I would have to say that the Old Fisherman's Grotto has seen the last of our family in the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDBOLTMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Take A Look Inside”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Outside, the place doesn't look very inspiring. Walk inside and find a warm, comfortable, and enjoyable restaurant. The clam chowder is terrific as is the selection of fresh seafood. We were very tempted to take a pass on this place based upon the exterior, glad we didn't.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDG6610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is the place to eat at the wharf!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After a day of playing tourists in Monterey we decided to try out one of the seafood restaurants along the wharf. We ended up at one at the end of the wharf and walked out, the service was so bad. So we then came to this restaurant and were glad we did! We were immediately greeted by a lovely hostess who seated us upstairs with a nice view of the beach. We mentioned our horrible experience at the other restaurant and when the waiter came by later, he told us she was sending us a complimentary appetizer! Pure class! Our waiter was friendly, helpful and fun. We had delicious Mai Tais with our free appetizer. My husband had a delicious calamari sandwich and I had a seafood platter that included lobster (small but good), prawns and salmon. All were very tasty. The risotto that came with it was amazing. They also had very reasonable wine specials. We were really pleasantly surprised at the quality of service, food and ambience. When we left we thanked the hostess and the owner also came up to introduce himself and give a handshake. Very impressive! We will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwolff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The employee out front offering free samples of their clam chowder was very engaging, we checked out the menu and decided to try it.
We were taken to a wonderful water view table, were greeted by very friendly staff. All the staff including our waiter Ricardo were outstanding as was the meal and the presentation. The macadamia encrusted halibut was delicious. Upon entry we were given a coupon for a free appetizer and all bottles of wine were 25% off. When presented with the bill all ladies received a lovely rose . Wonderful experience, highly recommend it.
D&D Victoria BC

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Potsy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fisherman's Grotto also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Old Fisherman's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing