We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great dinner”

Old Fisherman's Grotto
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Fisherman's Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scott Street
Description: Located on historic Fisherman's Wharf with stunning views of the Monterey Harbor, Old Fisherman's Grotto is a "must visit" restaurant. The "Grotto" has rightfully earned its worldwide reputation for only the finest cuisine in a superb atmosphere and service. Featuring fresh seafood from sustainable sources including Macadamia Crusted Halibut, Hawaiian Swordfish, Ultimate Seafood Pasta, live Crab and Lobster, the Grotto also offers a variety of the finest "Certified Angus Beef". Start with our award-winning clam chowder and finish by indulging in one of our fresh house-made desserts. Enjoy a bottle of wine from our 2014, 2015 Wine Spectator Award Wine list with over 200 selections specializing in local vineyards. AAA 3 Diamond Rating, Monterey Peninsula Chamber "Business Excellence" Award Winner. 2010 1St Place "West Coast Chowder Competition", "Best Chowder" Monterey County for 12 consecutive years , Winner "Best Calamari" three consecutive years in the Monterey County's Weekly Magazine "People's Choice Award". No high chairs. No strollers. No booster chairs. Children crying or making loud noises are a distraction to other diners and as such not permitted in the dining room.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a great dinner”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant on Friday night. The place was packed but we could still get a nice table by the window where we could enjoy the view. The service was great and the goods was very delicious. We tried special menu of the day and wasn't disappointed. We loved our food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sirikarnnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    518
    162
    69
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were looking for a restaurant to taste the famous chowder and we did not make a mistake. The service and the food were really good. The clam chowder simply awesome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STBaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very good place for delicious fish”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We went there in a group of four. Nice dark lit interior, very good service and reach enough but readable menu.

At the beginning we had salads, which were just a mix from the supermarket. But then everyone ordered different type of fish and all of them were fresh and delicious (my favorite sword fish and tuna). Accompanied by Pinot Grigio from Sonoma Valle they made our day! Desserts were American style with deep fried cheesecake as a star.

So I would recommend to stay with the fish and do not experiment further. But this is definitely a place to come back!

Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very good food. Regret we could not order more.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We made a reservation for this restaurant for a Thursday night dinner. Upon arrival we were promptly seated by the window with a view of the bay as we requested upon making a reservation. They offered a free simple appetizer and we've got fried calamari and fried artichoke hearts. None of these was remarkable. For a drink I ordered Top shelf Bloody Mary which was really good and my wife had a Lemon Drop which was equally good. Before the main entry we decided to share a cup of clam chowder and it was by far better most of the chowders we ate in New England where we live. There were two main entries on the menu which I wanted to try - Bouillabaisse and a seafood paella. Both portions were big according to the server and we decided to share the paella as we were already pretty full with the seafood from the lunch. Paella was interesting, not excellent but very good. I wish I could try their Bouillabaisse but we were leaving the next morning

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank europetraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
821 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Whow what a treat some great Seafood in beautiful surroundings with great views. I opted for the Grilled Artichoke and Calamari as a starter followed by The Fisherman's Wharf Platter which was half Dungeness Crab, Grilled Shrimps, Scallops and Crab Cake, served with sweet corn risotto and sauteed organic vegetables. It was delicious and perfectly cooked. The service was excellent and well worth the visit. there is so many restaurants to choose from on the pier, but this choice was right for me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fisherman's Grotto also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Old Fisherman's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing