We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty poor pizza and customer service to match”
Review of Gianni's Pizza

Gianni's Pizza
Ranked #26 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $11
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pretty poor pizza and customer service to match”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The pizza's on offer in this cavernous restaurant are numerous but I suspect from what I tasted and saw from the other tables, they will all taste the same. The pizza is very doughy and looks as thick as a duvet. In the end , having changed our order , the same wrong orders were delivered to our table . Even the thin crust pizza is quite thick and the toppings are piled high. This is isn't artisanal Italian style pizza, this is USA thick crust more like a UK pizza hut offering.
The staff were unmotivated and not customer focused, the atmosphere dark and dingy, with very traditional red and white Italian chintz every where. It is very dated decor wise. Unless you are on a budget and want pizza the next day or looking to feed a large crowd in one sitting, I would find somewhere else to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    146
    44
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over rated :(”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely heaving so expected great things but very dissapointed :(
Maybe it's an English thing but not the pizza we enjoy :(
Too salty and not a pleasant base, but for $22 we did our best to eat it :(
Flat soft drinks and no ice machine :(

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, AZ
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Doughy, tasteless pizza but great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Gianni's is one big restaurant that always attracts a busy crowd. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is enough seating inside this place to provide for an army battalion.

The pizza we ordered, a large sausage pizza, however, in the end was just OK. The dough is just that, too doughy, even though the sauce is fine and the toppings are plentiful, judging by all the various pizzas we saw around us. We were hungry and ate all but two slices and those two slices were given to our two German Shepherd Dogs that were happy to eat our leftovers.

The woman's bathroom was in desperate need of some cleaning as there were pieces of toilet paper and water all over the restroom.

Other than the bland pizza, the rest of the menu is worth checking out. The pasta dishes are huge and the gelato is awesome. The restaurant also offers free WiFi.

Despite my disappointment with our pizza, Gianni's prices are very reasonable. Our large sausage pizza with two refillable drinks was only $27. That's seven bucks cheaper than our lunch we had at another burger joint earlier in the day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conniegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Really delicious pizza. Very very cheesy. And not expensive at all. Large dining area which is suitable for every age! Yum

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Pizza!!! Always packed!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I can't take a trip to Monterey without going to Gianni's! The atmosphere is always great. Happy, friendly it's like one big family in there! And the garlic sticks!! wow I order like 10 before I leave Monterey just to make sure I have enough for when I go home. The crust on the pizza is so soft and delicious. They don't skimp on the toppings either!! full and Heavy pizza! Ravioli... oh my gosh.. heavenly!!! go there go there go there!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tikalysh518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianni's Pizza also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Gianni's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing