We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, no atmosphere”
Review of Grandma's Kitchen

Grandma's Kitchen
Ranked #75 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
West Valley City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good food, no atmosphere”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had supper at Grandma's Kitchen on a trip to Monterey Bay. We chose it because it was near our hotel. The food was excellent--Homestyle cooking. We'd chosen breakfast items which are served at any time and found them to be excellent. The service was efficient and very friendly and homey. The cost was quite reasonable. It was quiet, and not so busy as some of the places in the more touristy areas.

The decorations centered on owls, and was to me a little unnerving, creating a kind of strange atmosphere. If you're looking for something quaint with good food though, this is a good choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moodblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    42
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went here for breakfast on the way out of the Monterey area. The restaurant was clean and had the look of your grandmothers house inside. It is also known for its display of owls that are all over the restaurant.

Service is good and the staff is very friendly. Prices for breakfast are reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgtburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Vacation Breakfast”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been going to Grandma's off & on for the last 8 years for breakfast during our vacations in Monterey. We have had everything ranging from omelets, steak & eggs, sausage & eggs, pancakes, french toast, etc. and have never been dissappointed. Some of the reviews mentioned the place was unclean, but I have to say we have never encountered this on any of our trips. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone for breakfast. We have never tried it for lunch or dinner. I would say "try it, I think you will like it"!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDBOLTMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ate here on Sunday September 1st. It has a homey, Grandmother feel to it. The waitress was very friendly and when we went there wasn't very many people there. Nice and quiet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It really looked like a grandma's kitchen.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tight space, but conveniently located with good prices and darn good breakfast. We hit this before the First City Festival and it helped us from overdoing it on fair food. Friendly service too. If you like breakfast you'll dig this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Kitchen also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Grandma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing