We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rappa's Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

Rappa's Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fremont, ca
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice to get a table on the window looking out at Monterey Bay. You see seals, pelicans, seagulls, and many other birds. Its a great view while eating. Staff here is very friendly. Food was good. I got the Sand dabs, I wish they had put more sauce on the dish. Wife got Fish and Chips it was good. Jose was our waiter and could not have been better, very nice. Hostesses were also very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    82
    38
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rappa's Steak, Seafood and Pasta with panoramic ocean views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We happened upon a quaint restaurant on our walk to the end of Fisherman's Wharf to watch our boys in a regatta at the end of the pier. Rappa's had panoramic views of Monterey Harbor and we were seated at farthest most corner to have a 300 degree view of all the harbor . Sea lions and sea otters were feeding just outside our window tables swimming in the path of the fishing boats sailing by. The restaurant had very attentive and friendly waiters and served a tasty Bloody Mary. We ordered Prawns and Scallops Fettuccine served in a Spicy Vodka Cream Sauce on the lunch special menu at $14.95 and received complimentary calamari appetizer. The pasta had a delicious tangy sauce and the waiter gladly shaved fresh parmesan upon our request. The calamari was standard for a seafood restaurant, served with cocktail sauce and a tartar sauce. The view was simply outstanding and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yellowbrickroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worse Service Ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

After playing tourist for the day in Monterey, we decided to have a late lunch and stopped in at Rappa's. The staff outside were friendly and offering $1 wine tastings. We looked at the menu, especially the lunch specials, and decided to go in. We sat at the lower "seafood" bar to get a good view. We were offered menus and placed a drink order which came somewhat quickly. But things went downhill from there. We asked for the specials menu and the waiter shrugged and said he'd "try" to find some. In the meantime a group of two couples sat down next to us. They not only got the specials menu (after asking) but also received water, a free appetizer and very attentive service (none of which we received). He completely ignored us for the next ten minutes. Finally we gave up and paid for our drinks and walked out. We were ready to eat a large meal and instead spent a large sum on a great meal at Old Fisherman's Grotto nearby. Now that was five stars!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwolff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwahnee, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is amazing! Great food, great prices, great service. It doesn't get any better. All tables have a view of the water, sealions, water birds and whatever swims around the bay while you're eating!! Excellent food, excellent service and surprisingly low prices for what you get!! Definitely a must see at the end of the wharf on Monterey Bay. They have a cozy bar at the entrance with interesting drink specials, too. Immaculate place to dine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A terrific lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stopped there for lunch attracted by the price of Chesapeake oysters at $1.35 each. We ended up having 18 oysters on the half shelf and I must admit those were one of the best I ever tried and I have an extensive experience in oysters on both of our coasts as well as in France. We also had a half of a Dungeness crab which was also very tasty. We were not planning to have a full lunch there maybe to try a half dozen oysters but couldn't resist having more of them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank europetraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rappa's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing