We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was very good...”
Review of Cindy's Waterfront

Cindy's Waterfront
Reserve with OpenTable
Cindy's Waterfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Relax in our beautiful, full-service restaurant with spectacular ocean views. Cindy's Waterfront is the perfect spot to sip a glass of wine and savor Cindy Pawlcyn's inspired seasonal dishes with selections such as Monterey Bay Calamari with Curry Vinaigrette and Hunan Grilled Chicken Salad with Sesame Noodles. Or enjoy casual food in our Cafe that's perfect for the whole family including brick-oven pizzas, made-to-order burgers, fresh-tossed salads and mouth watering desserts. All of our dishes feature the freshest, local ingredients sourced from Monterey Bay and the Central Valley.
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
340 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The food was very good...”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is nice to have a sit down food option on the aquarium. The menu and food are good and different from what is being served in the cafeteria. It would have been nice if they also separated the eating areas more than with temporary dividers though. It's quite noisy because of that. The food is only slightly more expensive than in the café next door.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamaica_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews, I never expected to get a seat at Cindy's without a reservation. But we gave it a shot after seeing the line already waiting just to get into the cafe at the aquarium. Luckily, we were seated within a couple of minutes, and we're pleasantly surprised by the cute little area tucked away behind the cafe. Our server was great, the food was very tasty, and the cocktails were surprisingly good. I never would have expected this "finer" dining experience in the middle of the aquarium (just one more reason to love that place). Prices are on the higher end of the spectrum, but no worse than elsewhere on Cannery Row. Definitely recommend giving Cindy's a try.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise !”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

After opening the aquarium, and walking about all morning, both a rest and a meal were in order. We ventured into Cindy's, expecting poor service, mediocre food and high prices. Wrong on all three counts !

We were seated by a window, off by ourselves by a courteous host, and attended to by a skilled and hospitable server. The food was delicious, and the Bloody Mary was one of the best ever. Our server described how the mix was made on site over several days. The prices were really quite reasonable, especially considering the venue. I strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the aquarium. The server even gave us a good tip to a non-tourist restaurant nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiffCanlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
95448
Level Contributor
231 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A calm spot inside the busy Aquarium”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Cindy's is part of the ocean watch group that harvests sustainably. I love eating what I know is good for me and for my Earth. We watched cormorants and otters play outside the window as we enjoyed dynamite shrimp/crab rolls. I also enjoyed the thinly sliced onion rings. A lovely wine, fine service. Made a great lunch for our girls' road trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judithsaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unexpected quality and value for a museum lunch place”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

What a nice surprise! Good food, good service, great view, good value - all right at the aquarium! Everything we had was good, but the polenta fries were extra special.

Helpful?
1 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cindy's Waterfront also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Cindy's Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing