We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Ranked #101 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Came here on vacation with mother sisters and daughter. Celebrating birthdays. You receive a lot of food and it is fresh and delicious. Anytime we go we love it but there is so much left overs for us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amaple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had a Blast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

One of my many missions in life is to visit all of the Benihana's restaurants. Their hibachi shrimp and fired rice and salad and soup and ginger sauce and sushi and filet mignon and everything on the menu is sooo yummy. To date, I've made several trips to six different locations and Benihana in Monterey Ca on April 6, 2013 was outstanding. The service was tops. Our chef was the best one ever! And bless our waitress, she never let our glasses go empty. Yes, it may be a bit pricey but we laughed and laughed and laughed and at this resturant, good mood is contagious. Well worth the money spent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Araceli921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as you've been told.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Place is a little cramped and kinda dirty feeling. The food wasn't good, not getting value on this. Service could be better. I will not be going back again. Do not recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's exactly what you expect it to be. Okay food but that's not why we came here. Kids love to watch the food get prepared. It's entertaining but that's about it. The food was just so-so. Probably won't come again. One time was good enough.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GotTwins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not what it should've been”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I ate here last night and had high expectations based off of our own previous experiences at other hibachi grills/Japanese steakhouses. Boy were we disappointed! Our chef must have been in training or fairly new because he failed miserably at the flair and entertainment portion of dinner. He tried to spin and flip eggs, missed and broke all 3 before giving up on that. Tried to flip shrimp tails into his hat. Missed that a couple times too. Then when it came time to make a volcano out of he onion slices, he failed at that too. No flame, no fizzle, nada. Just a stack of onion that eventually fell over. And the food itself was bland, unseasoned and not much to speak of. My glass of wine was Moscato, which is a sparkling wine and therefore should be crisp and have bubbles. Not this glass though. I was clearly served a glass poured from a flat, pre-opened bottle as my wine was flat. After tip, it ended up being a $95 dinner with two drinks when it felt like a $35 experience instead. We will never be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank starrygirlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing