We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp and Snow Peas as fresh and delicate as if you were sitting in the Great Wall kitchen”

The Great Wall Restaurant
Ranked #115 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
kauai
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Snow Peas as fresh and delicate as if you were sitting in the Great Wall kitchen”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

....rather than greedily opening every mystery carton of chinese takeout, provided in quick response to our moving-all-day tired phone call for dinner. We ordered egg rolls, shrimp and snow peas, beef with crunchy rice noodles and all-the-fixins fried rice. The food was hot and freshly made. It arrived not a half hour after we ordered and the man who delivered was kind and efficient. I missed opening the fortune cookies, I bet mine would have been profound. Definitely the one we can always count on for great chinese food in the comfort of home. The Great Wall of Monterey

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kauaivalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    32
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Takeout”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food was okay, the soup I ordered was bland and needed a lot of soy sauce to make it edible. The General's chicken was really good. The prices were okay for the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gonetravellin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Just weird... but the food was decent!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We were in need of a change from crab and fish on our Monterey Peninsula visit, figured basic Chinese food would do the trick. Being that we hail from SFO and Chicago originally, well, we've done a lotta Chinese. This food was OK. We did the family style thing for a total, for 2, of $35 before tip. Not easy when you are staying in Carmel --- appreciated the value. Hot sour soup was good and not too spicy (added chili). Eggrolls and shrimp were crunchy, hot, not greasy. Pork fried rice was nice. Szechwan prawns were beautiful and the dish was fine. Kung Pao chicken was all white meat, nice surprise, and spicy. It wasn't the best Chinese we've had, but it tasted good. Found ourselves very thirsty all night, so there was probably something there. But here's the thing: when you enter, the first thing you see is a sign that says "we love the ocean so we don't use styrofoam". Then you see the giant pile of styrofoam cups on the counter. Why? Not really about the styrofoam. More like "don't tell, we didn't ask". It was weird. Our visit was on a Saturday night in the quaint town of Monterey... and this was like a ghost town (except for the pierced goth kids who ran screaming by us as we left.). Seems to be hundreds of hotels within walking distance, but we were ... get this... THE only diners in a large restaurant on a Saturday night (8ish). Service was great... but we had to wonder where the customers were. It was weird! We almost didn't stay. More weird: parking is very confused, none in front, no space in conjoined parking lot (like zero room and nobody moving). We wound up parking behind the restaurant at the back door behind the gas station... icky and just weird. So I guess if we had it to do again... even tho the place is lit and decorated just fine... we'd probably opt for takeout ... or go back to crab and fish!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauranlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food and service were very good”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We ordered several appetizers--potstickers, eggrolls, and crab rangoon. The potstickers were the best I've ever had. The other two were average. My entree was orange chicken and steamed rice. It was a huge portion and very tasty. The rice was excellent. Service was above average. I would eat here again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank montyl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Dine there with family. We ordered egg rolls, egg flowered soup, Chinese chicken salad, Chinese broccoli, pok Choy and seafood in clay pot. The portions were large. The food is good.

Helpful?
Thank PapaRichWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Wall Restaurant also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to The Great Wall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing