We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied”
Review of Papa John's

Papa John's
Ranked #233 of 305 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Fresno, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dissatisfied”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten at Papa Johns in Washington, Oregon and other areas in California which have all been good. I was excited when we moved to Monterey this summer that there was a Papa Johns located so closely to my house. I have always known Papa Johns to have good quality and super affordable. This is not the case at the Monterey location. The service is terrible! The people working there are under qualified even to make pizza. They cannot make a decent pizza and it takes 10 minutes for them to take your order over the telephone and then you get home and the order is wrong. The dough is not cooked properly, they use way too much sauce and skimp on the cheese. I have given them a couple of chances because I thought maybe I hit them on a bad day, but it seems to have gotten worse not better. I wont be going back anytime soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and the pizza is only marginal acceptable - Nothing to rave about!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's been a while since we had had Papa John's and one afternoon a couple of weeks ago decided to get take out. The concept of what you see is what you get is not true here. What you see online (pictures and prices) is not what you get at the store. Instead you get poor service, higher prices and longer wait times. If you want to enjoy pizza in Monterey, visit CPK instead. Oh, and which place offers military discounts that make your pizza even more expensive than the prices advertised in your window? Shame on you, Papa John's on Lighthouse!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _simply_my_2_cents_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Ok pizza - ok service”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

They mixed up our order. If adding 15-20 cents per pizza is what it cost to give your workers health care ADD it!!!! Don't make me choose my pizza due to your poor choice in politics!!! GO AHC - healthcare for ALL!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brinbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“dont support this business”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This stuff shouldn't be allowed to be called pizza. We need to pass a law calling this type of stuff "fast food derived from pizza". its disgusting to taste, disgusting for your body to digest, and has almost no nutritional value. Its gross.

Try the pizza at the Hyatt Monterey. brick oven, decent size, italian style, fresh ingredients.. yum!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elegantmoustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good pizza, but more than 20 minutes late”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Papa John's pizza is always good, but when it's delivered 20 minutes late for your kid's birthday party and you ordered it three hours in advance, there's no excuse. I won't order from this branch again, but the pick-up service at the Papa John's on the Presidio is always good.

Note: this is a review of the Lighthouse location's delivery service. Don't know if they have dine-in or not.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanSSwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa John's also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Papa John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing