We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located”
Review of HI Monterey Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HI Monterey Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here one night while touring Northern Cal. The hostel was clean and quiet. We are a family of 4 and had a private room and a shared bath. It was perfect for our needs and very convenient to the aquarium, cannery row and an easy walk to the wharf. No worries about parking, just leave it at the hostel and walk everywhere. This was one of 5 different hostels we stayed at during our trip. I would stay here again. The manager was great and allowed us to use his member passes to the aquarium, saving us a good chunk of change!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 130 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I staied here one night when I was going down from San Francisco to LA. This was the best hostel along the way. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast with complementery panncakes is great! And they have a big parking area connected to the house. It was just great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

First time at a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. With 2 adults and 3 large teenagers we still found the 'Point Lobos' family room adequate. The place was clean and felt secure. Staff were very nice. Location was fantastic. It was great having the kitchen to prepare meals/pack lunches.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DONNA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was travelling down the Hwy 1 and this place came recommended due to the friendly atmosphere and great mattresses (!). it did not disappoint. Staff had some good recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing. There was a beautful sunset and I got there just in time! The people were friendly, and good breakfast of "make your own" pancakes! Would recommend this as a place to stop off on the Hwy 1.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a fabulous hostel. Great common area and kitchen. Dorm rooms good. Spotless bathrooms. would happily return. Great location. Walk to shops and restaurants. Can walk to aquarium. This is one of my favorite hostels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here on our way down the highway 1 for one night. I would highly recommend this hostel, probably one of the most clean and tidy hostels i've ever been to. The staff was very helpful and friendly with directions to restaurants, sights etc..
Free pancake breakfast as well.. AND temper mattresses, got such good sleep that night!! Very nice "living room" area to chill at.. All together, very nice place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofiabeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is the second hostel I've stayed. And it was a great experience!
The staff was very kind and helpful, the rooms were clean and there was a great living space to interact with the other guests.
The kitchen was very well equipped and works in the principle DIY. You get 2 coins for the shower per day and each one gives you 4 min of water.
I can say the security was good to since the front door and the room doors has digital locks with different number keys to open.
The parking lot is just behind the hostel and has a good size too, I didn't had any problem with it.
The Monterey aquarium was just ~4 blocks away and if you ask at the front door they may give you a pass. Just return it after using ;)

Room Tip: Bring your own body wash and shampoo. Flipflops can be useful too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aziesemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.7 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Monterey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Monterey Hostel

Address: 778 Hawthorne St, Monterey, CA 93940-1102
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Monterey
Price Range: $55 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Monterey Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fun and economic way to visit Monterey Bay! Just 3 blocks to the beach, Aquarium, Cannery Row, restaurants, nightlife, recreation trail, there's plenty to do and see here. Bike, hike, dive, surf, kayak, museums, art galleries. Private rooms, dorm beds, and group dorms. Free parking, WiFi, and pancake breakfast all included. You'll be pleasantly surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your HI Monterey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing