We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUCH GREAT PEOPLE!!”
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

So I had booked a reservation 4 days in advance thru the 800 number. They assured me the room I had reserved was a conjoined 2 bedroom with 1 king bed in each room. I came to the motel to find out the person I spoke with reserved 2 SEPARATE ROOMS THAT WERE NOT CONNECTED!!! What the French toast?! The man at the front then told me that they only had one type of room with combined rooms separated by a door but it had already been booked, however he said since we got here first he would give us the room and switch the other guests with other rooms. He was so nice and welcoming, so was his wife. They were all so nice and great!! I will staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad our staff was able to accommodate you in a connecting room. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 708 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our room was great, with two beds and a sliding door in between, so great for two couples as there was extra privacy. Good location, and great complementary breakfast. Reasonably priced. The bathroom was large and clean. Our room did not get replacement towels and the beds did not get made for the second night we were there, however the staff were appologetic and said they would look into it. A simple mistake I am sure.

Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank your for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you found our property to be great and I apologize that our housekeeping staff didn't service you room. We have placed additional measures in place to ensure that this isn't repeated. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Dobrydendavid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed in the Monterey Super 8 for 3 nights in mid April. The room had ample space, everything was very clean, and the bathroom was extra large. Even though the hotel was close to a busy road, running the ac/fan all night kept all the noise out. We slept great :) The breakfast was not anything to speak of, however Denny's is right across the street. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our team has been staying at Bindu"s Super 8 for years now. Boy, talk about amazing customer service. She has helped us arrange group dinners, reccomened our favorite local breakfast spot and is just really kind. The rooms are clean, quiet and some have a microwave and small fridge. This year we will have stayed there three separate times. great location to Laguna Seca and downtown Monterey without the hefty price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and staying with us several times this year. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was in town for an event and just needed a place with self parking, a clean room, and low cost. This was one of only maybe three hotels in town that were still available and had the best reviews for cleanliness so I went with it. It's exactly what you'd expect from a motel, strip of rooms, single story, parking for each of them. Inside of my room was very clean, no stains, no mold, nothing weird, other than having an empty mini-fridge AND a microwave (not a bad thing). Shower worked, water was hot, A/C unit worked, bed was just a bed, not particularly nice but sheets were clean and nothing torn or stained. I give it 4* for being as advertised, the right price, and exactly what I needed.
If you're here on vacation and care what's around the popular part of Monterey is a 5-10 minute drive plus parking. There's a couple decent restaurants walking distance as well as liquor and pharmacy/CVS. The hotel is very near the airport so louder propeller planes are quite audible but do not occur during main sleeping hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebigcafeteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you found our property met your expectations. As you mentioned, we are located close to the Monterey Airport and on occasion may here a plane fly by. Fortunately, the air traffic is very limited and ends at nighttime. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A little out of town but for the price you can't ask for more. If you have a car easy drive back into town. The owners are lovely, the room clean and breakfast although basic was enough to get you started for the day. Was going to stay one night but ended up staying another.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Lark1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of our property. We appreciate you feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Address: 2120 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $61 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing