We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheap”
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was in town for an event and just needed a place with self parking, a clean room, and low cost. This was one of only maybe three hotels in town that were still available and had the best reviews for cleanliness so I went with it. It's exactly what you'd expect from a motel, strip of rooms, single story, parking for each of them. Inside of my room was very clean, no stains, no mold, nothing weird, other than having an empty mini-fridge AND a microwave (not a bad thing). Shower worked, water was hot, A/C unit worked, bed was just a bed, not particularly nice but sheets were clean and nothing torn or stained. I give it 4* for being as advertised, the right price, and exactly what I needed.
If you're here on vacation and care what's around the popular part of Monterey is a 5-10 minute drive plus parking. There's a couple decent restaurants walking distance as well as liquor and pharmacy/CVS. The hotel is very near the airport so louder propeller planes are quite audible but do not occur during main sleeping hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebigcafeteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you found our property met your expectations. As you mentioned, we are located close to the Monterey Airport and on occasion may here a plane fly by. Fortunately, the air traffic is very limited and ends at nighttime. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 721 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

A little out of town but for the price you can't ask for more. If you have a car easy drive back into town. The owners are lovely, the room clean and breakfast although basic was enough to get you started for the day. Was going to stay one night but ended up staying another.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Lark1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of our property. We appreciate you feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It is a beautiful, small, well maintained and superbly managed by Mr. Haren & Mrs. Bindu. The room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The best part was the customer service. Their customer service will help those who have lost their faith in the customer service to restore it back.
Thanks again to Mr. Haren & Mrs. Bindu for making our stay pleasant. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ishbhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and experienced excellent customer service. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank 007X007X
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was so nice to return to this Motel after two years to find the standards are still as high, clean rooms, comfortable beds and a friendly greeting it was nice that they remembered us.
We hire a car and it is an easy driver to Fishermans Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row
with many very good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad that your return visit was just as pleasant two years later. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have stayed at Super 8 hotels at a number of locations over the years have been less than enthusiastic about our stays. It was with some trepidation that I booked at the Monterey Super 8 on Fremont Ave. based on tripadvisor reviews. To my surprise, this is a one-story property with parking in front of the rooms. The rooms are large and comfortable, the breakfast adequate Super 8 style. In addition to the location and design of the building, It is the manager and his wife that elevate this Super 8 to the top of the the chain. Friendly, informative and welcoming, the management helped make the stay run smoothly and even gave great advice for a delicious Valentine's Day dinner on a night when every restaurant table in Monterey was reserved.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank cdundeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the exceptional service. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
155 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
75 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Address: 2120 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $55 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing