We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return after two years”
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was so nice to return to this Motel after two years to find the standards are still as high, clean rooms, comfortable beds and a friendly greeting it was nice that they remembered us.
We hire a car and it is an easy driver to Fishermans Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row
with many very good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad that your return visit was just as pleasant two years later. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 708 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have stayed at Super 8 hotels at a number of locations over the years have been less than enthusiastic about our stays. It was with some trepidation that I booked at the Monterey Super 8 on Fremont Ave. based on tripadvisor reviews. To my surprise, this is a one-story property with parking in front of the rooms. The rooms are large and comfortable, the breakfast adequate Super 8 style. In addition to the location and design of the building, It is the manager and his wife that elevate this Super 8 to the top of the the chain. Friendly, informative and welcoming, the management helped make the stay run smoothly and even gave great advice for a delicious Valentine's Day dinner on a night when every restaurant table in Monterey was reserved.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank cdundeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the exceptional service. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very good location (we had a hire car), exceptionally friendly and helpful staff (Bhindu became a great friend in the course of our 4 night stay!), nice clean and well equipped rooms, decent breakfast, and good value for money. Close to the superb Monterey Fish House... you MUST eat here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanellus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the property and found it to be a good value. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I was stranded in Monterey, CA during the Pebble Beach Golf tournament. All hotels in town had no vacancy, the car repair shop suggested Super 8, I was skeptic but I didn't have much choice. As I walked into the office, the clerk, an older gentleman was checking in some guests, when he was done and it was my turn, he greeted me with absolute friendliness and made me feel welcomed and safe. I explain the situation and he accommodated me right away, helping me with the rate and making sure I was comfortable, he reminded me several times of the breakfast service and recommend a spectacular restaurant across the street. The room was amazing for a 'motel' I felt like I was at the Sofitel in a grand city. I have traveled far and all over the US, I have many memories of travel experiences, but this one will always be in my heart. Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: Best value, grand place
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KikiT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad our guest room exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you kind words and look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed 3 days last week of January 2014. Was looking for inexpensive, clean motel in the Monterey area. Booked the smallest room here for $49/night. When I arrived they very nicely, without my asking, gave me an upgrade to a king room. Room looked to have been refreshed quite recently. Housekeeping does a very good job - I always give a place a good once over when I arrive and this room was very clean. Good bathtub & shower, great flat screen tv. Best of all was the great wifi connection. Never had any problems with the wifi disconnecting. Also, I am always reluctant to walk around without shoes in motels but noticed during my stay they were having the carpets cleaned in adjacent rooms. I've never seen that before in my many motel/hotel stays. Location was fine - within a few blocks there was a Safeway (with Starbucks), CVS pharmacy, Denny's across the street and many other restaurants/fast food places within a few minutes. Five minutes drive to Fisherman's wharf area, Easy to find, quick on/off highway access for both north and south bound travelers. If you're looking for a good clean budget friendly motel, this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WestcoastMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness and value. We recently replaced all our TVs to 32" Samsung LED televisions to compliment the over 70 cable channels. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

nice place to stay. good location to the harbor and shopping. staff very nice, and help full .enjoyed the time spent in the area. spent two nights.must see cannery row and the shops in the area. the fisher mans wharf has great food and shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the visit to Monterey. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ralf S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 56 in Monterey
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Address: 2120 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $60 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing